Goin' Places


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 20th 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have been so fortunate to participate in this wonderful exchange and come to this incredible city. In addition to the special classes and outings arranged for us by The Jingshan School, and our absolutely awesome group of students, my incredible host family has taken me, and Bob during his visit, on many wonderful excursions and outings. They have been so considerate: wherever we have gone they have arranged a friend or guide who speaks good English to interpret things for me, and their cheerful friend "Lily" is only a phone call away whenever communication is an issue. The pictures here tell the story of SOME of the fascinating places I have been here in Beijing, but every day is truly an adventure. The friendliness and guilelessness of the people of Beijing cannot be overemphasized. On more than one occasion I have been a little lost or momentarily confused and strangers hurry to my side to help me find my way. Yes, they want to practice their English, but they want to help too. It is an understatement to say the food here is delicious. Fortunately my host family are coffee lovers. I'm getting better with chopsticks though eating chicken wings with chopsticks is a real challenge. I have tried almost everything I have been offered, which means that I have tried some dishes I had rarely or never had before, for example, seaweed, (not bad!) squid, (I prefer Calimari) preserved eggs, which are black in color, (takes getting used to) intestines, (surprisingly delicious) and toast with sugar, which is kind of a treat.





Additional photos below
Photos: 75, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb