Cook for sick Sarah


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
August 3rd 2005
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I woke up around 9am and caught some tofu soup at my favorite breakfast café. Then I moved on through the pouring rain to Bookwork where I sat down with a latte and a few guidebooks. I studied about China and Laos while comfortably listening to the patter of rain outside. I asked a few young people sitting nearby to borrow their laptop that they were working on a project for Puma. At around 1230i returned to my hostel and moved from my single room to a dorm. It felt good to finally be out on the move again and live in a dorm atmosphere after a month of hotels. In the room I met David, a radio guy from Switzerland.

I quickly packed my box together and made my way to the post office. The process of packing it and filling out the form seemed to take forever. So at one point I gave up and went to the tourist office to do some internet and put the CD’s I had purchased onto my MP4 player. In the tourist office I met Piero and his girlfriend yet again. For awhile it seemed we might be heading the same direction as I was considering training it down to Kunming, which would have required a string of overnight train rides putting me in the city just in time to catch my flight to Laos. In the end I decided against this idea, as I preferred not to spend each night locked in a train when the nightlife was my favorite part of my traveling so far.

A bit before 6pm I returned to the post office and finally managed to ship off my box with their “SAL” service. It wasn’t cheap in the end but after the time and money I had invested into the stuff I figured I should at least make sure it arrives ok

Finally I was done with my admin bullshit so I called Sarah who had felt sick and visited the doctor for a problem with her throat. I told her I’d stop by and help take care of her. On the way I picked up a bunch of groceries and decided I’d cook her dinner. When I arrived at the place her roommate, Annie, was there. Annie was a 20 -something year old American girl from Detroit where her father had been a senior manager for GM. We chatted for a bit and then began watching the movie Taxi with Robert Deniro. He starts out normal but gets fucked up from loneliness and the normalcy of his taxi-driving job. Until one day he flips out and kills the pimp of some cute girl he’s trying to rescue. The whole time I was cutting vegetables and then cooking a healthy vegetable pasta. It turned out pretty well and we all shared. Next we watched a Japanese manga film with a very complex plot about robotic humans fighting over some project. I wasn’t sure who were the good or bad guys and got a bit lost, so I gave up and began doing some stretches instead. Near the end of the movie Annie went to sleep and Sarah and I cuddled and played a bit. There’s something soft and mysterious about her that really draws me. It scares me a bit because I felt things that I haven’t felt for a girl in a very long time. I gave her little kisses and a massage to help her overcome her restlessness and get some sleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb