Another day in Beijing...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
July 29th 2005
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

street lightsstreet lightsstreet lights

street lights
Well its Friday, a full week since I’d arrived. It seems like a hell of a lot longer. The girls are already beginning to fade into a memory and I’m starting to settle into a routine reminiscent of my days in Shanghai. This morning I slept like absolute shit. I woke up around 7am after only 2 hours of sleep and went to my favorite café down the street for some of their now familiar tofu soup and dumplings. I went back to sleep for a bit and then made my way to the market. First I started out buying my new fake Sony MP4 player. Big enough to hold a movie complete with color screen for about 50 euros. Then I went up for a nice hopt pot on the top floor cafeteria. Afterwards I went down for some suits and haggled with some girls at one of the bigger shops for about 30 minutes before leaving without having bought anything. Instead I bought about 9 tailored shirts and then 2 suits from Amanda. They seemed like good quality and at about $100 a pop, the price was good too. After having spent a significant amount of time browsing ties I bought a bunch off of Jasmine, a cute little 20 year old girl who spoke good English and kept telling me how smart I was. She was still probably ripping me off, but I liked her style and asked her out for dinner. She agreed and we set a time. Then I jumped into a cab heading for Smile Dentistry. They had told me they could do whitening on my back teeth for only about $20 but this turned out to be a misunderstanding and when I got there the price was actually $200. So I politely declined but enjoyed talking to an attractive Cambodian mother with her 4 noisy kids. She was 37 but I could swear she was flirting with me with her husband inside some room next door getting his teeth cleaned.

I left and made my way into Oriental Plaza Mall where I grabbed a bite to eat. They I cabbed back to the hostel and went to Latin dance class. It was pretty much the same crew but the style was quite different today. I felt half asleep but somehow I managed to sweat my way to the end. Then I popped out, bought some DVD’s and grabbed some food at an outdoor café near the hostel. I returned to the hostel and soon after John had showed up ready to begin the night. So I didn’t have to nap the way I had intended but instead began sucking down cheap drinks at the next door student hangout bar, Kai Club. It was full of chubby backpackers so we switched to Bar Blu and spent most of the night dancing to the Top 40 hits there. After awhile I met some cute young Chinese girl and awhile later I had my tongue down her throat on the beautiful outdoor terrace on the top floor. Sometime later she mysteriously said she wanted to leave so I said bye and ate tofu soup at the packed outdoor café near the bar street. I sat and chatted with a Finnish guy that was working for Nokia. I got up a bit later and met up with John who was sucking some girl’s face in the corner of Poacher’s. I hesitated and left lost out in dancing with some cute blond and called it a night when some other guy moved in.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb