First week in Asia - Tokyo


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 17th 2007
Published: May 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Beijing and my apologies for taking so long to post this. Wireless internet access in China is not as accessible in the US. Thanks to the ambitions of Starbucks in Beijing I am able to log onto the internet with my laptop, but today is the first free afternoon I've had since I arrived in Beijing. Better late than never.

Last week I spent 3 nights in Tokyo on my way to Beijing. Please look through my pictures to see about my adventures in Tokyo on my way to Beijing. My friend Chieko took very good care of me and showed me the true Tokyo (not just the tourist version, which I’m sure is fun as well). Tokyo is a fantastic city and was only accentuated by a wonderful friend like Chieko!

Beijing is also a very exciting city but in a way different from Tokyo. First of all, my time in Tokyo was all leisure - eating, drinking coffee, sight-seeing, going to the newly opened hot springs in Roppongi, watching Kabuki, eating some more, drinking sake, and catching up with my good friend with wonderful conversations about everything from world politics to how we met our husbands. Tokyo is probably more expensive than NYC, but if you can afford it I highly recommend it (unless you hate fish like my husband, in which case I don’t think you’ll love it as much as I did).


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb