Great wall Simatia


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
May 5th 2007
Published: August 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I cried yesterday because I was so happy. The joy amazement that wells up in your being and causes tears to fall. This is what I have always dreamed of this is what I always saw myself doing. I am hiking in the great wall with a camera around my neck taking pictures with good friends. Sure in my fantasies National Geographic was paying me but I am doing with no pressure just shear enjoyment. The high from fullfilling a dream is amazing. The reality smacks you in the face I AM IN ASIA!! Somethings are beyond words and pictures the way things make you feel. The quiet of wakeing up with not a sound around just you and the mountains and the great wall. This trip went really well there were really not any problems.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

This is the beginning of our trip.
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

Sitting on the great wall and breathing deeply its such a great feeling.
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

Me and my lovely backpacking look
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

I don't recomend the great wall to people with vertigo. I get it a little and had problems at some points.
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

So we drank great wall wine on the great wall and played funny phycological games. If you were a famous person who would you be. and everyone tells what famous person they think you would be. Micheal with his funny English made the game really funny. According to him if i was A famous person: Julia roberts A Disney character: Dumbo an Animal: Panda
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

At several points in this adventure I felt like Indiana Jones.
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

So this is our tent. Micheal and Liba were so jelous because I can sleep anywhere. laying on the hard ground we started talking about counting sheep. My sheep jump over fences Libas czech sheep walk over a bridge. We kept trying to get Micheal to tell us what Chinese sheep do but he could not understand. Evidently Chinese sheep just stand in a clump. I fell asleep four a couple of hours when the wind began. I thought the tent was going to take off with me in it. It was so loud. So Liba and I took our sleeping bags and slept outside underneath the full moon. Or rather I slept Liba and Micheal could not sleep.
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

Here are those sheep we were counting
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

The great wall
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

Watching the sunrise was so amazing
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

It was a lot of walking and climbing .
Great Wall SimatiaGreat Wall Simatia
Great Wall Simatia

We got off the wall and had to make it back to town. We rode to the main road in the back of this guys motorbike. I think I can do anything now. Standing on the side of the road we hailed a bus. We then began our four hour bus ride back to Beijing.


5th May 2007

oh my!
Well now you've done everything so you can come on home for a little while. What a wonderful adventure. I always knew you had alot of your dad in you. You sure didn't get that camping gear from me.
5th May 2007

Sounds like you are having a blast, i am so glad that you are happy and have found what you love, china. Love and miss you.
5th May 2007

memories
Seeing the sunset, tent and mtns. bring back memories of 30 years ago. Especially your comments of the wind blowing at night. I have been blown off the mtn. tops more times than I can remember, and still wouldn't pass up the view and pictures at sunset and sunrise. I realize it would be a real come down-but perhaps you might go hiking with me in the NC mtns. when you get home? Your pictures remain priceless. I was telling your mother that your next adventure should be to South America to visit tha Aztec or Mayan pyramids and caves. See you in less than two (that's 2) months!
5th May 2007

Great wall
Trisha, your comments, your pictures, take my breath away! I admit to a sinking feeling when I heard you were going back, but at the same time I am so thrilled for you. When Richard was your age he backpacked all the way down to the tip of So. Am., climbing up the Andes,hitching rides on buses full of peasants and live chickens. He loves your spirit of adventure. So do I. Grandmama
6th May 2007

Wonderful!
It is a dream of mine too - and the Terra Cotta warriors - Ok now I also want to visit Cambodia! This time next year - I will be walking the Great Wall too - because I am coming overseas to teach English!
7th May 2007

incredible!!
i didn't even know you COULD camp out on the great wall!! what an adventurer you are!!! you are the only person i personally know who has done so much! you are amazing!!!
8th May 2007

I agree with everyone - what an amazing adventure!! I'm glad you are soaking it all up - it's cool to experience it vicariously through you!
30th May 2007

I hiked simatai in february. One of the best things ive done in my life. incredible experince

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb