Craving people and places


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
March 10th 2007
Published: March 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BLUE SKYBLUE SKYBLUE SKY

It was actually a very cold windy day but the sky was blue so we set off for down town.
Hey , sorry if you have not been getting updates. Travelbolg was having some problems but they fixed them now. I was really glad to read everyones comments. So if you are interested back up a few blogs to catch up. As for this week well.....
I always get this way. Effete. After my birthday I got depressed with my life that I am older and not doing anything with my life blah blah blah. I had an amazing time in Shanghai and then a great time with they guys for New Years but all my Chinese friends were away with family and I was alone. I started getting really homesick and depressed. I have come to realize that it’s important to do things with people and not just what you see. Because touring around Beijing without someone is really boring. I have always been a little bit of a loner. I like to do things on my own. But I have gotten to where I crave people all the time. Very strange for me. Just when I thought I was going to go crazy I was blessed with Francesca. She is from Germany here on holiday living with Liba.
DoorsDoorsDoors

Jeremy was an art film major and he goes around taking pictures of dust bins and random things in China. I feel the need to be a little more creative. So I have started takeing pictures of doors in China. Check out album.
She is the greatest. She loves really crowded buses and can talk about anything and to anyone. We have a lot in common mostly that we need someone to run around Beijing with and split a cab with back to Fengtai. We started walking at Tianmen and ended up all the way at Houhai Park. We got lots of great pictures and are planning lots of trips together for the rest of her time here. So I have refallen in love with China and people and life and I am excited about the new school year. Life is good again.





Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

View of the cityView of the city
View of the city

I got a great 360 view of Beijing. I got pictures of all the famous landmarks. The White Pagadoa
view forbidden cityview forbidden city
view forbidden city

Forbidden Ciy, the capital and the martian spaceship of theater they just built.
Drum and Bell Tower Drum and Bell Tower
Drum and Bell Tower

Looking at a map its a straight line from the Forbidden city to the Drum and Bell Towers.
uniformsuniforms
uniforms

I feel so sad for these guys who have to stand in the cold and in the rain.
uniformsuniforms
uniforms

some day I will look up what the different uniforms mean and their job title. But the guys in gray seem much friendlier then the guys in green


12th March 2007

Wow--a bluue sky day!!
Possibly it's not having new friends that makes you feel wonderful now; it just could be that blue sky. I got so excited on a morning when I looked out the window (facing west) and actually could see the mountains that are a few miles away!! It made the whole world seem a lot more cheerful. But other people are really important--you have to share your life, or it's not as good. I think you'll do fantastic at taking those unusual pics; you're great for noticing the details! I want to see them all!!
12th March 2007

Well birthday depression sucks, I had it and I wasn’t in China. But to think you aren’t doing something is crazy, you’re in another country teaching and planning to return to America and study so you can teach more. Looks to me like your life is going some where, I think maybe someone has been telling you lies and that makes me angry, I think I know who it is and I will be getting on top of that shortly. Well I love you and can’t wait to see you. Oh and I'm glad you found a friend I'm sure that helps.
12th March 2007

Glad it's good again!
If you were ever shy this adventure should rid you of it. You make friends easily. I'm glad Francesca came along. The pictures are really beautiful this blog. The grey seem friendlier than the green!! haha you crack me up with that one. So glad you are back with the blogs!!
12th March 2007

Sinu-citis
Re "refallen in love with China". Once you've got the sickness, it never goes away...
13th March 2007

i had to use dictionary.com in order to read your blog. effete = exhausted of vigor or energy; worn out. got it! yes i know what you're thinking..."and she's the english major." well what can i say; maybe i'll work on my vocab in grad school. some girls have all the luck - mostly foreign ones. Frencesca! i want that name...so chic and classy. remember the crazy lady in Under the Tuscan Sun that plays in the fountains, and eats icecream, and pets ducks, and wears gorgeous clothes...well her name was Francesca too and thats when i started wanting it. so when you come home are you going to print out all your coolest pics...we could scrap book your top 100! i am pretty good at it...i would even be willing to do it for you...but you'd have to provide the pics of course .... but i just have so much more fun looking at pictures wehn theres a ton to look at at one time...i forget them after awhile and it'd be wierd to go back through all your blogs, ya know? "After my birthday I got depressed with my life that I am older and not doing anything with my life blah blah blah." dude, what is your definition of "anything", because i'm feeling real innadequate these days...i'm almost 21 and have nothing to show for it -- theres no cool photos in my travel blog....oh wait i have no TRAVEL blog b/c i'm still in COLUMBIA, SC!!! speaking of bdays. you are going to miss my 21st. thats not cool. kathryn white is plannin some crazyness that i am not allowed to know about b/c since Steff sorta has ruined my last 2 or 3 kat's determined to make it rock...the funny part is there will only be one other 21 year ild in the bunch -- i still plan to go somewhere and order a rasberry martini straight up with a twist...if thats even a real drink. i dunno, your my older sis. seems lik you re supposed to be there. i remember for your you were in IN and I was all trying to figure out how to get up there and stuff, but it didnt work out and your was on a sunday so i was trying to make you buy smirnoff the day ahead to be ready but then that would spoil the whole thing b/c you wouldnt be able to buy it and it was all so complicated -- i remember a charmed marathon being involved in that weekend as well. ok ok ok. enough nastagia for one day. i'm on springbreak and i have more homework than i would consider legal so no exciting gettaway. I am doing a beach day, so thats a lil something. have fun in the chinese snow -- which i would have to guess is worse than SC snow, but hey soon you'll be baking in the SC sun. later kid, bec.
14th March 2007

Got a question
You said something that made me wonder.... Do they listen to Rap music much in China? There is this Chinesee rapper that I've listened to before, and I was wondering if he's popular over there. That leads me to another question... How can I get responses from you? Does your other E-mail still work? Wonderboy
18th March 2007

Hey Trisha! We miss you over here. Allie always reminds us that in about 100 days trisha is coming home. so....you are going to grad school? At USC? crazy! i wish i had tHE oomph to do all that (that's bjo, not dan saying that). we are just doing some spring break homework. sad that such a thing exists, huh? I'm reading (this is bjo again!) Anna Karenin and it's taking me forever and ever. ooooo tolstoy. glad you made a new friend. that sounds fun...a taxi buddy!! like a MOVIE. WE LOVE YOU.

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb