Day 7 Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing
April 6th 2008
Published: October 2nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 39.9165, 116.391

Tonight is our last night in Beijing, one that I have been looking forward to as we will be staying in a snow resort! But more on that later.

First stop was a silk shop where all sorts of silk stuff were being sold. Not my type of thing but part of the tour...ok..we hung around.

Deshengmen Gate
This is one of the gates defending Beijing from invaders. This was impressive with all sorts of ancient weapons and armour on show. They even had cannons on top of the building. Walls were big but not as big as the Forbidden City.

After that we took a rickshaw ride along the river. Not sure of the name..so I'll just call it a river. Our rickshaw driver was very good. I didn't think it would be scary but it was. Never mind the bumps but we got pretty close to cars. Some of the turns I thought we were going to topple over! But he kept us in check and after a 15 minute ride we made it!

Prince Gong's palace
Prince Gong was a chief advisor but judging by his mansion you could have sworn it was either the Summer Palace or similar. I think
Rickshaw rideRickshaw rideRickshaw ride

About to set off...
that's where he got the inspiration. Quite a number of ducks walking around by the lake inside...wonder if that was dinner?

Qiaobo
This is impressive. It's a hotel and on top of the hotel is a snow ramp. I said to Winnie let's go snowboarding but it wasn't for her. So I went. I spent a good 30/40 minutes snowboarding down.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb