Beijing - Day 2 - The Adventures Continue.......


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
October 18th 2011
Published: October 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

(written on Tuesday night) And here we go - a full day in Beijing under our belt (or, our shoes, actually, LOL!) -

Had a fabulous breakfast at the hotel and then we were off for a great day of sight-seeing. Weather was absolutely perfect (by my standards, anyway) - sunny, about 21 degrees celsius (roughly 70 degrees F. ), no humidity - couldn't ask for better than that.

It's so interesting to visit the places where so much history has taken place (is that an oxymoron?) - first stop - Tiananmen Square - holy smokes, Batman - the number of people there - Wow!!!! The pictures show it all. (be sure to click below and see ALL the pictures I post, too, ok?) -

We then spent a fair bit of time visiting the Forbidden City - be sure to click on the different tabs on this site because all of the historical information is available to you, right here - that's why I don't go into a lot of detail about that in my notes. I'm sure we spent 2 hours there - some of my photos depict the inner court where the concubines lived - where the Emperor slept, the guest room, etc. Very interesting! As we were wandering around the Forbidden City (we're a very friendly group!), we had an amazing experience. Brenda, our Tour Director, was standing next to a young man who seemed to be Canadian. She started chatting with him and, lo and behold, turns out he is from Peterborough, ON (her home town!) and is studying in Boston - here on a school assignment for a few weeks. Small world! Brenda got the Jameson's, from my group - who are also from Peterborough - and they all had a really nice visit with this young man, Cameron Jacox (see photo below). Just a few degrees of separation - even over here in China.

(continued on Wednesday morning - had difficulties getting into/staying in Travel Blog last night - sorry for the delay, folks!)

Then, off to lunch and it was a fabulous, authentic Chinese meal which I loved - the menu is in a photo below. This was a great time to relax and get to know each other even a little better.

Then, on to a silk factory - now, that was an eye-opener. I had NO idea how silk was made - what an education. Then, we got to tour the factory, make some purchases - from comforters, to pillows to a huge variety of clothing. Beautiful. There was 'red' everywhere - my favorite, as many of you know. (No, I didn't buy anything, though.......) From there, it was time for a quick visit to the Temple of Heaven (don't you just love that name!!????) - and then back to the hotel for a buffet dinner - YUM!!!!

All in all, a very full and great day. Will share more tonight, once we've returned from the Great Wall and the panda viewing.......wait for it 😊

Thanks for being with us. (Good night, Mom - I love you!)

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



18th October 2011
Photo 46

Hello Jim and Nancy!
I am loving this blog and seeing a bit of what you two are experiencing. It's wonderful that you two are doing this. And thank you, Happy Pat, for blogging on the adventure. It lets us have a little part of the experience. Though, I must say that I am turning green with envy. Greener than the green tea you're sipping and greener than the leaves that those silk worms are crawling all over. Happy and safe travels to all. Keep the adventure coming!
18th October 2011

Fantastic Blog!!
Hi Pat, I was very excited to receive the link to your blog:) Please give my regards to Robert (he was an amazing passenger and I'm sure he is an amazing tour leader!!), Brenda, Bob & Liz, Bill & Carol, Leona, Elisabeth and Ed. I had the pleasure to meet them all on the World Tour 2010 (and the trip of a lifetime even it was considered work)Cheers!! Susan Ogilvie, Flight Attendant Manager, Flair Airlines
18th October 2011

Day two
The gardens are GORG, the silk worms freaked me out because I thought they were in a salad and i was like, ewwwww. then i thought, very cool. The silk looks like a display at a fabulous wrapping paper store. I can not believe it's REAL....The shrimp are the size of my puppy,I am now starving for an early desert and i was trying to hold out for #dwts (dare i say) carson getting the boot...love the yellow hats...i need a visit to the hall of mental conservation...i love any and all picture's with toes in them....and I'm happy to hear you are having a fantastic trip!!!!!
18th October 2011

Wow!!!
Ni Hao again Happy Pat, although I am not sure what happened to my comment I posted yesterday, I can't seem to find it?! Anyhow, you are the best blogger ever! You make me smile and LOL :) Everyone is still looking content and being followed on this blog vicariously indeed. Looking forward to more updates. Blessings to you all from Toronto. - Jenny
18th October 2011

Amazed and Amazing
Pat: ♥ the blog - a nice blend of humour, adventure and (heaven forbid) social commentary. your enthusiasm is infectious! hope your hands hold up, clicking away on ye olde camera and tapping away at the pc/laptop keyboard. carpe diem, always!
19th October 2011

Wow!!!
Looks like things have got off to a wonderful start! Wish I could be there. Really impressive pics of sights in Beijing. Great that weather is cooperating. Maybe one of these years I'll be able to take such a trip! Hi! to Ed G.
19th October 2011

Hi from North Bay
Hi Leona! Glad to hear you are on this trip. Enjoy! Lorraine
19th October 2011

Greetings from Ottawa Canada
Thanks for the daily blog. It allows us to share in your adventures. Please give our special greetings to our friend who is traveling with you: Muriel Williams. We're both glad and happy that she is having such a good time.
19th October 2011

LUCKY YOU
I AM REALLY ENJOYING READING ABOUT YOUR TRIP AND I LOVE ALL YOUR PICTURES.THANK YOU SO MUCH,,SO HAPPY FOR ALL OF YOU.I AM A FRIEND OF MURIEL'S.
19th October 2011

Keep them coming
Loving the dialogue and the pics Pat! Looks like an amazing trip - and you've just begun. working in New York kate
19th October 2011

We're loving your blog, Pat - delighted to see some familiar faces (Leona, Elizabeth, Ed, Robert & Brenda) from World Tour 2010. Looking forward to your Vietnam Adventures.
19th October 2011

Pat, Outstanding
Pat, your trip is breathtaking. Diane and I feel so privileged to be going with you via my computer. I have heard of these places and never thought I would learn so much about them . Your writing is so real, thank you.. thank you!!
19th October 2011

Pat, Outstanding
Pat, your trip is breathtaking. Diane and I feel so privileged to be going with you via my computer. I have heard of these places and never thought I would learn so much about them . Your writing is so real, thank you.. thank you!!
20th October 2011

Thanks for your note!
Hi JoLove - so happy to see you on my travel blog. When you leave a 'message',it comes to me privately. If you want to 'join the community', just leave me 'comments' and then everyone can see your notes, too. Having a blast! Pat
19th October 2011

Pat, Outstanding
Pat, your trip is breathtaking. Diane and I feel so privileged to be going with you via my computer. I have heard of these places and never thought I would learn so much about them . Your writing is so real, thank you.. thank you!!
19th October 2011

Silk!
How did you ever resist buying some of the beautiful silk!! Nice to see the Peterborough contingent.
20th October 2011

Thanks for your note
Hi Syl, thanks so much for your note on the travel blog. You are leaving it in the 'message' section, which only comes directly to me. If you want to 'join the community', leave notes in the 'comment' section. Happy to have you along!!! Pat

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb