Beijing - Reuniting with relatives


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Tian'anmen
April 14th 2010
Published: May 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thanks to the update I left on Facebook explaining the ban in China and that it would be over a month before I could respond to any posts one of my German relative sent me details on family I had living in Beijing, a Great Uncle. I made contact and we arranged to meet at Ritan park for lunch the next day in a German restaurant called Schindlers Tankstelle. When we met we started with some drinks of course, I had a pig knuckle with sauerkraut, it was brilliant, the largest meal since I left home, it was so big I took what was left of it away in a doggy bag for dinner. My grand cousin joined us as well, someone id only met once when I was four. I didn’t even know he lived in Beijing and we hit it off straight away. I would spend most of the next week with him. After lunch I made my way back to Qianmen where I was staying as my relatives both had appointments. There I met some more English travellers and spent the evening with them in the same bar I’d spent the previous day. They even allowed us to write on the ceiling to commemorate our visit. Bar 365, Martyn from Scotland 04/10, that will be there until they redecorate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb