Temple of heaven Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Temple of Heaven
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So took the subway to chongwenmen and then walked the rest of the way to the temple of heaven, the temple is basically a platform for the emporor to perform sacrafices and offerings to the gods. Around the temple is parklands which have some smaller temples scattered throughout. The whole place is built on the ancient principle that the heavens are round and the earth was square so the bases of the tremple is square and the domes are round, the north of the parklands are semicircular while the south is square, at 1st I wasn't too sure about the place as there were tour groups everywhere and those nnoying people with mega phones but if you wander into the parklands you get away from all that and find really nice woodlands and trees,

After spending about 3 hours in there I hopped in a taxi to go to Dongyue Temple which is a confucian temple in the Chaoyang district, unfortunately though it was closing just as I got there so I just went and found the nearest subway back to the hostel where Jessica was waiting for me with her Mother to bring me for dinner, They took me to a Hot Pot restaurant around the vorner from the hostel on Gui Street, it was sooo good, she oredered this special one where its split in two, one side is eally really spicy and the other side is quite mild, and we ordered lots of vegatables and lamb to put in it!! They give you this what I think was alderberry drink to drink coz it cools down you palate after you eat the really spicy side but it didn't really do all that much!!!

Sorry I don't have any photos to put up on this yet I forgot to bring the camera with me.!! And Im updating like 6 days but I will put up photos soon!! i promise!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb