My First Day in Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Shunyi » Baixinzhang
March 21st 2015
Published: March 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hi all!

My first day in Beijing was trying and interesting at the same time. I'll start from the beginning:

My flight on Delta was amazing. Way too much food. Plush leather seats, "rest kit" with mask and ear plugs, blanket/pillow (of course), and headphones for the individual computer on the headrests. Yes, computers. It had so many TV shows and movies. It also had trivia games that could be played live between passengers (I was the only one playing. *sadface*), other games, language trainers, etc. The last international flight I took was on Lufthansa to Germany. They played select movies on scattered TVs. It felt longer, even though I was in good company. This time, I was alone. But the guy next to me was an American from Spokane on his way to teach English for a year in Chongqing. We stuck together until my flight to Beijing. He seemed just as scared, but he had a friend waiting for him.

Side note: I recommend selecting meals on international flights when ordering online. You get specialized meals before anyone else on the plane at no additional cost.

Pictured is one of three meals on the flight,
Chinese Arrival/Departure PaperworkChinese Arrival/Departure PaperworkChinese Arrival/Departure Paperwork

I'd better not lose the departure paperwork, or I'm screwed.
as well as the arrival/departure form handed out on the flight in order to enter China.

I went through Customs in Shanghai. They require all baggage to exit and be re-checked, so it was not automatically sent from my Shanghai plane to my Beijing plane. That was a process, especially since my flight was delayed.

I was snatched up by a shady cab service upon exiting the airport, which I knew to avoid, but all official taxis were occupied, and I knew my hotel wasn't far from the airport. They got lost, finally I showed them where we needed to go because I was feeling upset (my Internet decided to quit on me in the beginning). I made it to my hotel, and that was a whole other hour of google translate by 2 boys and 1 girl that were camping out on the couch waiting for me. They were college-aged, and really nice.

By the time I was in my hotel bed, it was past 3 am. I woke up to the sunlight with only 5-6 hours of sleep. I'm not sure how much I slept on my flights, but I know I was exhausted on my last flight on China Eastern Airlines. I took a long nap today, because all of this just kicked my butt. I didn't have much to eat today either, so I went looking for nearby places to eat. I was surprised to find a KFC nearby, but I chose a Chinese restaurant with a Porky Pig logo. When I entered, it was like I was from another planet. I picked out a Chinese Coca-Cola from the fridge. They handed me a menu and I focused on the soups. This sweet girl told me to pick "dat one because is...is..."..."most American?" I said. She giggled and said, "Mmhmm."

While my soup was being prepared, I felt eyes on me. Soon, she came out successively with four small plates, each time saying softly, "It's free. Free."
It was sliced green onions in a vinegar-chili sauce, white and golden rice, daikon radish and kimchi (sorry, you know I love it!). I was so excited to see kimchi that I squealed in delight, and soon had all persons in the restaurant looking at me and smiling. Even a cute little toddler dressed in pink bunny-suit pajamas.

I feel like everyone quit staring at me once I whipped out the chopsticks and showed them I'm the chopstick mastaaaaa.

I'm not sure what is in my soup. It seems like pork (based on the porky pig logo and what I know). They had a lot of duck on the menu, which is not my favorite. There are glass noodles, mushrooms, green onions, eggs and other things in my soup. It's pretty good.

They've been playing the same two songs on repeat, and I think they're Ed Sheeran and Jason Derulo.

I'm most worried about my battery life (I bought a wireless/solar charger), and finding food/drinking water. I brought a LifeStraw, which is a straw that filters water. You can drink from ponds with it. I used it earlier to drink water from a glass in my hotel. I was super thirsty. It seems to work great.
I am also very scared of public transportation and getting around. I wasn't expecting everyone to speak English, but my hotel said it had English translators. I bet they meant Google translate.

No one speaks English. My mandarin book is slightly helpful, but I have no idea what street signs say. They're just pictures to me.

Tomorrow, I will go to the Great Wall and Mingtomb. The next day, I take a train to Xi'an, and I'm still not sure how to get to the train station without calling a taxi. 😉

The people are nice to Americans, on a mission for business and driving, but they enjoy beer and cigarettes (in restaurants) after work. Saturday and Sunday are working days here, so I doubt the Great Wall will be busy tomorrow.

I brought a bunch of protein bars with me, so I might be surviving on them soon. Who knows?!

I don't have enough time to do everything I wanted, but I'm here.

My Skype also isn't working because my phone won't update. Gotta love it! It's okay. I'm not here for very long.

Much love everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



21st March 2015

???️
Totally wasn't pork;-) Xoxo
23rd March 2015

My brave traveler
Wow!!!! You are a mystery to me KC. You are so brave. I think I would have been on the first flight back...especially being alone. I can't wait to see you and hear all about it IN PERSON. Take care....enjoy....experience....be safe .....and don't forget to buy me something pretty.....LMAO love ya girl XO

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb