Excited and Nervous!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oregon » Portland
March 13th 2015
Published: March 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Various persons have asked me why in the world I'm going to China, and the answer is:



Because I am.








I was planning on flying "home" to Vegas/Henderson to visit my parents and brother, but it's Spring Break. Tickets would've cost me over $600 because of timing (all the frat boys and sorority girls will flood the area, as well), and we probably would've driven to San Diego anyway.

I originally wanted to go to Thailand, but plane tickets doubled in price just during one day. That'll be for another trip at another time.

So I started looking at other places I've always wanted to visit for one reason or another (history, nature, culture, etc).
Tickets to China were the same price as Vegas! Hotels are cheap, food is cheap, transportation is cheap, and there's a lot to see. There you have it.

I've always been really interested in places like China, Egypt, Rome and Ireland for their amazingly preserved history. I'm excited to see the Great Wall, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Terracotta Warriors, and more.



I'm going alone. I've never been in another country alone before, but I'm excited to remind myself what I'm capable of.

I officially know how to say "The toilet is clogged" in Mandarin, along with a small list of other odd things (thanks to a Manchurian friend, thanks!).

I'm purchasing a VPN for my visit due to China's internet privacy blocking (craziness!). I hope to have regular updates, but I'm sure I'll be spending more time enjoying the chaos than I will be updating a travel blog. ;]

Advertisement



19th March 2015

You can do it!
YOU BETTER COME BACK ALIVE OR I'LL HUNT YOU DOWN.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb