Week 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Haidian district
January 25th 2011
Published: January 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first day that I felt like I was going to a home…my home. Today was also the first day where I had countless conversations, ranging from a comical phone call in class about the airport, to a conversation about stocks and my passion for JP Morgan to my host dad, after seeing him look at charts, in Chinese. We both laughed about our losses from 2008, and I shared with him my top stock picks from both the Chinese and American exchange. I went to the gym with my mom, and we actually talked half of the time during our walk there! It is still difficult to know exactly what they say in response, but I am at the point where I can infer what they say if they speak slowly and directly at me. I never thought I would see the day! My host family’s daughter came over for dinner, and I was able to entertain some of the time. We talked about my trip to Harbin next weekend, and we all looked at airfare prices for me. I feel as if I have been accepted. My family and I talked more today than we ever have today. They even commented about my improved speaking. And although I still can’t order tea without being massively confused by the same response by the same person, I couldn’t be more thrilled. I have also been invited to a lunch with 3 other students to represent IES Beijing with a man who is the director of another study abroad program. I feel as if its an honor. Tomorrow night I am making dinner for my jiating (host family). I am going to attempt to make fried rice, as well as some American dishes – I need to research. Any suggestions please send my way!

At the gym I got a lot of looks, but I am accepting it. I have been pointed at while I was kneeling on the first floor of a bus I was traveling on that had ceilings at a grand height of 5’8”. I know I stand out, but even when I don’t have anything but 2 bags on my back, I was able to survive. Kind of crazy.

I told my family that my parents, sister, aunt, and uncle are coming out this May. They were almost as excited as I was to meet you guys. Prepare for a feast! I talked to my host parents about my parents. And although I communicated by mostly typing in “translate X to Chinese” in google, I was able to get my point across, whether a financial statement or something as simple as traveling. I was even able to tell my host dad that I want to work at JP Morgan, or do real estate.

Tomorrow I have no class. YESS!!!!!!!!!! I can finally catch up on reading, go to the gym again, and prepare dinner for my family. I, unfortunately, have class on Saturday, due to the Chinese new year next week. I have Wed-Sunday off next week. I plan on spending wed and thurs with my host family enjoying the new year and watching the fire works that my host mom kept yelling “HEN DUO. HEN DUO. HEN DUO.” Very much, very much, very much. Apprently it starts midday and doesn’t end until midnight. As much as this is such a prized cultural event, I don’t think she likes it very much. From Friday-Sunday I hope to travel to Harbin for the Winter Ice festival. I will know more in 24 hours. On Monday, the day after I get back from Harbin, I leave for 2 weeks with my fellow classmates to Yunnan province. I will be going doing rivers in an inner tube, splashing in hot springs, and meeting government officials and business executives at local plants. Its right up my alley, and I am very happy that I was able to get on that specific trip to Yunnan, as there were 2 other configurations of itineraries.

I have decided to accept the job at www.china.cn. I want to understand importing and exporting on a grander level, and I believe this company provides that. I have also heard from other people that have had heard about past experiences that were really positive. Either way, I want to accept this position rather than wait because they had 2 other people interview for it – both of whom speak great Chinese.

I miss my rock, my foundation, back at home. I miss all the people that I saw every day. And I simply miss being able to ask for something without pointing or doing charades. But no matter what, I am happy to know that I am able to make it through situations that have all the odds stacked against me.

I love you and miss you all with all of my heart.

Joshua





Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb