The virtual apartment tour


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Haidian district
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I know some of you can’t wait to see my 5* accommodation, so brace yourself and follow the picture story ………….
I haven’t seen any area of Beijing yet that is not built up, the roads are huge and crossing is at your peril. There is a series of 4 ring roads with huge pedestrian crossing bridges - which turn into mini shopping malls as guys set up their wares on a blanket on the floor absolutely anywhere.(why anyone wants to squat on the floor and buy a dodgy MP3 player on an overpass in the biting wind I do not know but they seem to?)

My main street has a Macdonalds on one side and KFC on the other (but no chips!) and a very expensive department store with designer labels and cosmetics. But go just behind this and you enter my housing community of low level apartment blocks apparently built around 1980. These are communities in themselves with small street shops and cafes, but not very beautiful. For the ordinary Chinese people homes seem to be functional rather than aspirational and although they are so keen on feng shui I don’t see any evidence of appreciation of aesthetics, everything seems very make do. I still haven’t found a single home ware store for nice lamps or rugs or that kind of thing. (They have an IKEA but I can’t go there!) Property in Beijing is extremely expensive and this flat is the best we can get with VSO’s money.

As I walk through the ‘estate’ I go right around the back of the block to the end and up concrete stairs, just one flight. I then enter my neighbour’s flat and go through her lobby to my front door. My main bed sitting room is actually quite big, well furnished and south facing with a big window and deep window ledge where I can sit in the sun. The caged window is very typical and is used to hang your washing because of course no one has a garden. I have found a few different parks nearby.

I have a second room with a single bed but I actually use this as a kind of kitchen diner as it has storage and room for my fridge/freezer and a table - which the kitchen definitely does not as it doubles as my shower room - yes I am not joking!! But the main thing is the water is hot and I can save time in the mornings by making a cup of tea and showering at the same time……….!!

Best not to ask about the other facilities, let’s just say they are local style.

But I am settling in and kind of getting used to it. I can walk to work in 25 minutes and the (brilliant) subway is 5 minutes away. I’m buying a few things to brighten the place up. There are loads of restaurants, shops and supermarkets and a cinema and I have the internet - what else does a girl need.

Next time you luxuriate in a long hot bath, or put your feet up in the garden and look at a lovely view, or bake something in the oven, spare a thought for me.

Still smiling
G x



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



28th March 2010

This site is much better - all working fine and can see pictures etc! You room is looking nice now with your pictures and the sun shining through the window. xxxxx
28th March 2010

Well
PMG, I would not cope! be safe xxx
28th March 2010

Hello from sunny Wales
Hi Gill, It was a nice tour of your apartment, it was good to see where your living. The weather has been lovely past few days, but wait for it.......we have snow forcast tomorrow can you believe it lol! I'm so looking forward to Turkey now, seven weeks and counting. Jeff is coming out for a week a week after I arrive so it will be nice. Hope you are keeping ok and that your girls are ok too! Sian x
28th March 2010

Time at Home
Hi Gillian well!!!! this appartment is not quite as smart as I thought you would get as it does look rather poorly resourced and rather like student quarters. What is the bed like? This is all important to me these days as I lie in my kingsize in my elegant room with loads of space and a lovely view! However how much more would one appreciate these if we spent more time in places like you are inhabiting!! I guess if you are coping OK now you will soon have lots to do and folks to see and not much time may need to be spent there. Did the radio come with the shower??? Dreadful weather here you'll be pleased to know and we can't spend any time in the garden as it has been too wet. Went to see Enron in London last week and also the Van Gogh exhibition both fantastic. I think the Chinese are fans of his and love all the sunflower paintings in particular. Have you met people you like to spend time with yet as weekends can be a bit dreary? As you say you have loads of things nearby to occupy you and you are very resourceful. Well I am off to sleep as lost an hour last night and have quite a bit og catch up to do. Take care and thinking of you. Love Jacky and Pete x
29th March 2010

thank you for news
Gillian, It's lovely to read all the details of cultural and daily life out there and to feel you finding your feet. Keep them coming! Much love, Jane
30th March 2010

Mmmm...interesting
A different way of living.Hope all is well and the bed is comfortable. I will think of you when looking at the sea at bottom of the garden on Thursday of this week but I bet you are having an interesting time of it and it beats teaching in Plymouth at the end of a hectic, ridiculous term. xx
6th April 2010

I have to say i am sleeping like the proverbial log so something is OK
6th April 2010

I'm glad you're liking my blog - enjoying writing it
6th April 2010

That's no radio - that's the gas meter I share my showers with!!!
6th April 2010

Don't worry i'm safe - well if you dont count the close proximity of gas electricity and water in my facilities
12th April 2010

Great Pent House !
So when is the house warming Gillian ! Well I hope you are still enjoying your stay and have made some good acquaintances. What do you do in the evenings ? The flat certainly looks bijou ! I suppose you have added your personal touches by now. I hope the weather is warming up for you. Its been lovely here the past few days, lots of sunny days. Its predicted a bumper summer, so fingers crossed. I just spent a couple of days in London and then visited the Exeter food show at Rougemaont Gardens and the castle, it was good, and · I have some friends showing their products, and went to a couple of cooking demos by top chefs. Its great to hear your updates, I mention to a few people at IVC when I decide to go. Keep enjoying yourself. Geoff x

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb