I've arrived


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Haidian district
February 25th 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

What a time to arrive, the very beginning of the Year of the Tiger, so I can get my teeth into this adventure.
Egg fried rice for breakfast, jasmine tea - and if you look closely at the pic you may see some of that food is still wriggling!

Staying in a hotel to start with and flat hunting for my own little nest. But I already have a desk and an office and a new boss - Mr Guo. His first words were to remark that I looked too young for my age - flattering possibly but not very PC - they are very direct. His second question was whether I was good at drinking! I was given a very thorough tour of the offices and every picture, prize and poster was explained - don't forget this is all via an interpretor - they are very proud of what they have achieved and our photos were being taken all the time.

I still feel a little jet-lagged but I have been thrown straight in with an initial buisness team meeting and today my first Chinese lesson so treated myself to .......................fish and chips, would you believe served in a cafe in one of the old 'hutongs' (narrow alley)

The first but definitely not the last of the many East West contrasts I am going to discover in this fascinating city.

Word of the day 'zou ba' - let's go!

G


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb