Hitting the wall


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Great Wall of China
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Great WallThe Great WallThe Great Wall

It is as fabulous as they say.
Traveling back to Beijing, I finally hit the proverbial wall. Yesterday we visited the Great Wall, the Ming Tombs and the Summer Palace. I took some pictures of the wall which we experienced with about 2 million other tourists (okay, so I was a bit testy with all the pushing... and the fact it was 95 degrees). I didn't even take my camera out at the Ming Tombs and by the time we reached the summer palace, I found a bench and sent Nora and Mike ahead to enjoy the gardens. (We agreed we need to go back). Thank goodness we are traveling Andrew Style again, and a hot bath in the deepest bathtub I have seen and a wonderful Chilean red wine did the trick. I am ready to go again.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Wall of peopleWall of people
Wall of people

They are, and should, enjoy their heritage. 10 years ago there were no cars, now with some money and time, the Chinese have discovered vacations. We are constantly asked for our pictures to be taken by people. We discovered that black people are even more popular as a "tourist attraction"
Hot PotHot Pot
Hot Pot

I get the most comments on the food pictures. Here we are enjoying a hot pot. Either a mild sauce in water or a spicy sauce in oil cook the meat and vaggies at our table. I thought maybe I would loose some weight with all the walking, biking and sight seeing, but Haihong makes sure we eat enough!


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb