Walking in Xi'an


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
June 28th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

FogFogFog

Oh no wait, that's smog. My bad.
Hi everybody, my travels are sadly almost at an end. I really hope you have enjoyed reading this, as I have done my best to tell about my travelling.
Things to note about Xi'an. It is a very smoggy place, and you can really feel it when walking around town. This probably also resulted in me getting very sleepy all the time. So blame Xi'an and not me for the huge amount of time I spent sleeping. Other than that it's a fun city with a lot of things to offer. Anyway on to the story of my travels

Day 23
This day I was picked up by my guide and we went to see some tomb areas at first, with temples and everything and afterwards to see the Terrakotta warriors. It was interesting to see the “vaults” containing more than 2000! warriors that had been pieced together and around 6000 more that were still in tatters. The other vaults were smaller, only containing artefacts, command headquarters or horses. And every last one of all of these soldiers, about 8000 and counting, have different faces! no-one is alike, which makes it kinda creepy to look at them close up.
There
CreepyCreepyCreepy

This Brazilian football player?, was on a lot of billboards and general advertising. Also he looks very creepy.
were scientists on site performing reconstructions of the many warriors, which made the whole experience a lot of fun. They even had a warrior “hospital” where soldiers were pieced somewhat together and at many times, held together by tape or plastic wrap. I went and saw a movie in chinese telling about the history of the tombarea, from the creation of the place, to the destruction by the peasant rebellion and finally to the rediscovery and reconstruction of the whole area.
We ate lunch at a restaurant where we had a variety of different local specialities, before we headed home towards the hotel. I now had the day off, where I spent some of the time, you guessed it, sleeping before heading in to town and looking at shops and the Muslim Quarter. I had great fun in dealing with all the merchants and even bought some stuff, before I stocked up on different types of stall-food and headed home to watch a movie and enjoy my different types of lamb before falling asleep once again.

Day 24
Another great day off from any activities. I spent the whole day walking up and down the many streets of Xi’an
LogicLogicLogic

The Chinese failed at this seeing as the door said "Way out"
to get a feel of the city and the shoppingpotential that it offered. I had a great day even though it rained a lot, but it was fun to see the people stare, both at me for being a westener and because I carried my katana-umbrealla around with me. As night came, I found some more stall-food to eat, before I headed down to the bar-area of the town.
I met a guy here named Felix and he came from Ireland. He had been living in Shanghai for the past few years working for a vintage-motorcycle tour company and had gone to Xi’an to start up a new branch. He was a great guy and we had a lot of fun, and he helped me a lot since he spoke chinese which came in handy when we were pulled in from the steets by a very intoxicated and annoying Chinese girl and her nice friends. They gave us free beer and talked a lot with us, and it turned out that apart from the annoying girl, that they were really nice and friendly people.
We continued on and found a bar close to the city-wall where we had a beer,
Oh so manyOh so manyOh so many

Early evil robot army
before going each our way. I amazingly found my way home and found my to bed nice and soft.

Day 25
I only had the first part of the day free as I had a train to catch later on. I spent this time in a shoppingarea that I sort of fell upon but which turned out to be a great place. Many things were bought and I had a great time exploring the many shops and watching the people that gathered at the plazas. I had some nice lunch and bought some surplies for the trip before I headed to the hotel and waited for the guide. He took me to the trainstation, which was a colossal nightmare for anyone not fluent in chinese, but he helped in getting in to the right area and told me which train to take.
I was then left on my own, before our train began checking in passengers. I found my room after some struggles and it turned out to have some nice people in it, lucky me. The other passengers were a Chinese mom and her son whom I did not speak that much to as they could not speak
ScientistsScientistsScientists

Doing scientisty stuff I guess
very good english, but my bunkmate was a Chinese girl that studied in Glasgow, Scotland, so we talked for most of the ride and had a lot of fun.
The night went without problems, even though I had some trouble falling asleep but I eventually slept wonderfully through the night before being woken up by the others. Goodmorning Beijing!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

HospitalHospital
Hospital

Please patch me up Doc
Smile and wave boysSmile and wave boys
Smile and wave boys

The feeling of getting watched by 2000 warriors is interesting at best
It's only a fleshwoundIt's only a fleshwound
It's only a fleshwound

I can still bite you!
Lots of spaceLots of space
Lots of space

In no way cramped
TrainhotelTrainhotel
Trainhotel

My room for the night


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb