Beijing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Forbidden City
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I decided to walk through Tiananmen Square again and then visit the forbidden city which was the imperial palace during the Ming and Qing dynasties. It is the world's largest palace complex covering 74 hectares with 9,999 buildings. Needless to say it took awhile to walk around. After the city I checked out a local food market. I passed on the snake, scorpion and testicles and opted for kiwi on a stick. For dinner a few of us went to a Korean BBQ restaurant and had a great meal. We didn't order the dog (it was on the menu) but instead went for beef, pork, yams, mushrooms and sushi. They had a BBQ on the table and we just grilled it up on the spot.

On Tuesday I took off for the silk market. This is one of the craziest tourist markets in Beijing with people grabbing you EVERYWHERE you go. After hearing "Hey mister, want T-shirt, shoes, jacket, good price for you!" about 200 times in the first 1/2 hour and finding a few cool clothing pieces, I decided to take off. Tonight I am heading to an acrobatic show and then calling it a night.

Tomorrow
Forbidden CityForbidden CityForbidden City

Thanks for taking this picture garbage can, you were quite steady.
is the final day of my journey. I am happy to have had this experience but am very ready to come home. I can't wait to see you Meghan, it's been way too long. I will call you from Vancouver airport with my flight info. Can't wait to see you all!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Forbidden City 2Forbidden City 2
Forbidden City 2

A lady walking around inside the city
Forbidden City 3Forbidden City 3
Forbidden City 3

A few of the numerous buildings.
Measure it upMeasure it up
Measure it up

A man measuring a wall for some strange reason
MMMMMMMMMMMMMM
MMMMMMM

Scorpions
HmmmmmHmmmmm
Hmmmmm

more random food, I think I'll pass.
BuskerBusker
Busker

An old man busking in the subway.


25th March 2008

Oh my god. I loved you in "Into the Wild"!
26th March 2008

Ummmmmmmmmm...........
No silly that was Emile Hirsch. I was on Survivor, remember???? The dude that fell in the fire???? Ring any bells????

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb