Last Night in China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Feng Tai District
June 24th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

 Alaina and Ruth  Alaina and Ruth Alaina and Ruth

I love street food its cheap and good
I am about to go to bed and spend my last night in China. What a crazy fun year this has been. There were days when I just wanted to go home and days when I could think of now place I would rather be. I have seen so many things and met so many people. I have discovered a lot of things about myself some good some bad. I have learned to have patience and endurance and independence. The things you learn by just doing something you think you can’t do is that you probably can.
As much as I love change I also hate it. I am going to miss this place. I wandered around Dong Gao di and went to the market. It was really really stormy lighting but no rain. I thought it was sort of poetic.

Why I love China
Last night I had to go the store to buy water because I don't want to pay for a new water jug. Its 9 30 at night and the young pharmacy girls in their white coats are closing up the store. These two old men are waiting for them. Under the streetlights in front
MMMMMMMMMMMM

Street food is sooo good
of the store the begin teaching them how to ballroom dance. It was really interesting. I think that is what I love the most about china there are no rules about where to do things. Everyone owns everything so things just happen everywhere. I walked through the park and they were having their music lessons and in front of my building they were finishing up their game of chess. Down the street they were playing badminton across the street.


My last day at the Middle school was not how I would have liked. I am sick again. They had no one to take my place so I had to teach. The only thing worse then peeing in a Chinese urinal is puking in one. I taught and in between classes threw up. But I was very glad to see my kids for one last time before I left. These last days I have been sick and now I have a cold and lost my voice. Great!
Don’t let these kids fool you. They are 12 and 13 years old. Sometimes when you think they are so smart they can’t possibly be so young they play these really silly
Vinegar saladVinegar saladVinegar salad

I will be so happy to have an american salad not this vinegar stuff
games.
I don’t know how many times I have watched them hit the light or play this clapping game.

The students all wear uniforms. But I have two boys who for some reason or another do not. I can’t figure out why. When I asked him why he said his uniform disappeared. The way he said it made it sound as though it vanished from his body on the playground one day.



So I had a goodbye dinner with Jeremy and Nathan where we had Beijing Roast duck.


So Goodbye to my first year in China Good bye primary school and Fengtai and Dong Gao di and Steven and Michael and Ella. Good-bye and the next time I write I will be in America and documenting all the things I need for my classes next term. All those many pictures that I need but did not have.
I can’t wait to see everyone.






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Beijing DuckBeijing Duck
Beijing Duck

My favorite meal one last time before I leave
Middle School Middle School
Middle School

I had this class which was 15 boys and five girls. I loved this class because they were so energetic and funny and their english is very good.
clapping game clapping game
clapping game

This game they play every minute they can
Frank and John Frank and John
Frank and John

Good students a little restless but good
Frank and John Frank and John
Frank and John

I felt really bad for the girls in my class because the boys refused to include them or listen to what they said in class. The girls english was technically better but the boys english was more natural because they never stopped talking
light gamelight game
light game

who knows
I love these kids I love these kids
I love these kids

Miller and Mark wearing my knock off versace sunglasses i have two boys who never wear their uniforms. I don't know why. When i asked the answer made it seem the uniform had majically vanished from his body during recess.


25th June 2007

oh my -you must be on your way home! how crazy. you are probably having bittersweet feelings...i guess i will see you soon!! love-bjo
27th June 2007

sleeping hard on the springhill sofa
I'm looking at all these adorable faces and understanding how hard it would be to leave them. I'm also looking at you sleeping off jet lag and am so glad I get to share some weeks with you. When I hear your stories and how you have lived for these past 11 months, I realize how much stronger you are than I could ever be. How wonderful to be flexible enough to enjoy the whole world. So happy to have you safely home. Thank all your friends for me for all their encouragement to you as you made your way in China. They will never know how much it meant to me to know that they were behind you all the way.

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb