Got Sick in Old Cathay... Twice!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Dongcheng
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I Got Sick... In China... Twice!



Yes, that's right! On my last visit to my motherland, I got sick in the capital city, twice! The first time was largely due to a stupid-dumb mistake I made on a train. The second was completely outside of my control.

I got sick in Beijing shortly after arriving. However, I managed to first go with my family to visit my grandfather's grave in Henan (Tianzhuang) before embarking on the train home, where I ate a contraband chicken and ended up messing up my stomach.

It was a really dumb mistake, I know. I further messed it up by devouring my grandmother's fine crab stockpile, and ruined it completely after eating a Beijing Fried Fish.

I threw up one night and had to be taken to the emergency room.

For the next three days, I had to take IV treatments in the hospital. It wasn't fun.

Then, after getting well, I caught the cold! and had to take another six IV shots to get well. Fortunately I got well enough to pass quarantine when I got back onto American soil. At least I didn't give any of my fellow Americans the cold, but I'm sure you folks already have your own strain to worry about (giggles malevolently).

Well, that's my trip through Chinese medicine for the year of 2010. Hope the next time I get to learn something about China's history instead of how long it takes to see a doctor (hint: a very long time: it's socialized medicine over there - I'm serious).

Have fun! Stay healthy!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb