It's all about Tylah!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Chaoyang district
December 23rd 2010
Published: December 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I am using my blog to indulge myself for a moment, so please forgive me this once. I am dedicating this little blog to my eldest daughter, Tylah. Today is her 12th birthday. As big an adventure this trip to China is for our family, it has also come with some measure of sacrifice from all of us, possibly for Tylah most of all.
It was extremely hard for her to say goodbye to dear friends, a lovely school she had attended since she was 4, a comfortable daily routine, older siblings, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, neighbours, pets, and not to mention Facebook, You Tube, Café Press, and a house full of favourite books and toys.
Wonderfully, and true to her character, Tylah has risen to this challenge with a grace and maturity well beyond her young years. She has become a best friend to her little sister, and, amazingly, to me also. You need to understand that we can go many days here without having anyone else to talk to that speaks English, and I now understand how much we took for granted the ability to just phone a friend, or pop out for coffee and a ‘catch-up’ when you just needed to feel connected with the world around you. It has been a revealing and defining time for me as a person, not just a mum. I have discovered a whole new world of conversation with my daughter, and we have grown to rely on each other to maintain perspective and humour in our often ‘alien’ situations. I have loved being included in on the girlie chats that I was oblivious to at home, and love that she is there for me to talk to when I need a good listener.
Tylah is extremely creative, inquisitive, complex and loving. She is also smart, funny, supportive and helpful. I can see that she will be the most amazing woman someday, and I know in heart she will always be one of my proudest accomplishments in life, and I will always be proud and blessed to be her mother.
My hope and prayer for her journey in life is to continue aiming high as she always does, to keep her faith in God, and to never forget the happiness that comes from the simple things.
So just for today, a mother’s indulgence rather than Chinese adventure stories. I just want to share my daughter with you ... Tylah!
Nat x
Ps our internet is working more efficiently so more blogs on their way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



23rd December 2010

It's all about love
The memories and bonds of this time together will last forever, to be cherished and recalled when age and distance may separate you, like an oil for your heart it will keep warm and bright the light of your love and friendship. MD
21st January 2011

Tylah's Birthday
Nat you are a very good writer - I hope you keep a copy of this for Tylah when she becomes a mother (if she chooses of course) herself or just for her to look back on a beautiful moment in her life - mother and daughter. Lots of Love

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb