Police at the door


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Chaoyang district
September 26th 2009
Published: September 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Resident Permit 1Resident Permit 1Resident Permit 1

Everyone must has one even stay here one day. If you stay in a hotel, the hotel will take care for you.
It was drizzling this Sat. morning. I do not feel like going out. I need to catch up with the home work anyway. It is because we have the longest national day holiday here this year. We need to go in the weekends before and after to make up the missed classes.

I was chatting with some friends on the MSN, and someone knocking on the door.
The repairmen for the shower suppose to come in the afternoon, why so early?
I open the door; it was a uniform policeman want to come in. He asked for my legal resident permit. I do not know is by random or they track me down. What permit? I do not have one! He called in and checks I do not have record of any. He told me gather my documents and go to the police station to register. He said everyone must register. He is very nice about it.

Since I am not the Korean reporters, I better do it right. When the apartment owner showed up with the workers for the repair of the shower and water heater. I asked my way to the station; actually it is only one block away from the apartment. I went in; the police on duty are very nice also. They even try to speak Cantonese with me. All they need is my phone number; Hong Kong permit ( like a Chinese local visa ) and address enter to the computer. They issued me a temporary residence permit without any fees. No expiration dates because it showed exempt from visa. I think that is the same piece of paper the school was asked for before. Now I am an official legal Beijing resident.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb