Suzhou's Lingering Garden


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Anhui » Huangshan
January 7th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Suzhou's Lingering Garden

Suzhou's gardens are world famous and I have no doubt whatsoever why. They are simply stunning. I have visited a lot of them and would give anything to own one of my own. What really amazes me is that they were at one time private gardens only visited by their owners and his family. They are an amazing blend of nature and architecture. The Lingering Garden was the first Suzhou garden on my tour. It is stunning. The garden is filled with ponds and streams and has beautiful pavilions and building scattered throughout. Each is designed to offer unique views. In different pavilions located throughout the garden are live musicians performing. They add to the already incredible atmosphere of the garden. They sing and play music. Many different instruments are represented and as you stroll through the garden you are welcomed by the beautiful music. Near the exit of the garden is the opera stage and every half an hour the local Kun Opera is performed. Kun Opera is different from Peking (Beijing) Opera in that it is much more natural sounding. I really enjoyed the show. The garden was amazing and its design was astounding.

Ticket Price:
Adults:
40rmb during Peak Season (April 16-October 30 and all National Holidays)
30rmb during the Off Season (January1-April 15, October 31-December 31)
Children Below 1.2 meters: Free
Seniors: Free
Time Needed:
2-4 hours
Hours of Operation:
7:30-5:00
Location:
Located outside Changmen Gate in Suzhou

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours. I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb