Huangshan's Xidi Village


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Anhui » Huangshan
January 5th 2009
Published: January 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Xidi Village

Located outside of Huangshan Mountain, Xidi Village is a stunning example of an ancient Chinese village. Since the village was added to UNESCO's World Heritage List, I was afraid it was now touristy and had nothing left to make it feel like a living village. I was happily wrong. Although Xidi Village receives a lot of visitors, it doesn't show. The houses have remained untouched and although there are a lot of shops selling souvenirs, they are kept indoors and do not sprawl out into the lanes so if I didn't enter them, I didn't even notice them. At the entrance to the village is an ancient stone memoral arch, which is very beautiful. The village gets a lot of visitors, but it is easy to avoid them. The main roads had a lot of people on them, but all I needed to do was go in a road and they were empty. All I could find were locals living as they always have. Xidi during the Qing Dynasty was home to a large number of extremely wealthy businessmen who did business all over China and brought back architecture styles from throughout the country. Their homes, many of which are open to the public are astounding and their architecture is unique. The houses are surrounded by high white unassuming walls, with magnificently carved gates. The houses are built around huge open skylights which let in light and fresh air. Almost every square inch of the interior is decorated. The woodwork and beams are extremely intriquately carved and many of the walls and ceilings are painted with beautiful murals. The houses are wonderful and fun to explore. Most of them are still owned by the descendents of the original owners and they are very proud of them and delighted to share them with visitors. The majority of Xidi's streets and alleyways are lined on one side with canals which are the village's water supply, as well as where clothing and vegetables are cleaned. In the morning, no one in the village is allowed to use the canals for washing things. That way the way is clean and they can get clean water for drinking and cooking. I think what I liked best about the village was the people who lived there. They were very quick to smile and were thrilled when I would peek into their house since all doors are kept open during the day. Of course I wouldn't enter without permission, which was almost always given without asking. The people were wonderful and really made me feel welcome.

Ticket Price:
80rmb. Ticket price includes tours of the ancient mansions and clan halls.
Time Needed:
1.5-2 hours.
Hours of Operation:
10:00-5:00
Location:
Located in Yixian County outside of Huangshan

In September 2008 I was sent on an inspection tour with China Odyssey Tours. I am the Marketing Manager of China Odyssey Tours. No one is told that I work for the company, and since I am a foreigner I can experience a tour the way our customers do. That way I get the real experience without any VIP treatment. I check on the sites, hotels, restaurants, and guides to ensure that they all meet our rigid quality guidelines.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb