Zoo, Feidong, Peking Opera


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Anhui » Hefei
June 7th 2009
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last Sunday we went to the Science Museum and the Zoo. The science museum wasn't very exciting, we went mostly to experience the earthquake simulation room, but arrived between show times and weren't interested in staying around for two hours for the next show. We went to the Zoo instead, which was a nice ride into Hefei's suburbs. The Zoo was huge, and not aweful like the stories you typically hear of zoos in Asia. At the entrance, there are a ton of peacocks roaming around free, they were so beautiful. We saw tigers, pandas, lions, bears, kangaroos, ostriches, giraffes, zebras, hippos... It was a huge place. I think we were a greater spectacle than the animals though, many people stopped to look at the foreigners walk by and one guy even stopped and asked to take his picture with all of us.

This week was a busy one. We had class Sunday - Friday. It was exhausting. Thursday night was Zhu Chen's (my teacher) birthday, so I arranged to take her out to dinner. After dinner, we went to KTV (karaoke). The English songs were quite limited so we sang a lot of Britney Spears and Backstreet Boys. It was a lot of fun. Its really popular here. Instead of going to a bar for Karaoke, there are 24 hour clubs where you rent a private room by the hour. You have your own screen and Karaoke with your friends. You can get food and alcohol, although it is common to bring your own.

Friday morning we went to an orphanage in Hefei. It is unlike other orphanages because it is based on a foster system. Unlike the US foster care system, the children here stay with one family and are not often moved around. The familys that take care of the orphans either have one child or their children have grown up. Most of the kids at the orphanage suffer from either a physical or mental disability. The visit was really great, the kids were all very happy and had pretty normal lives. The orphanage operates like a pre-school for the kids who spend a good amount of time with their foster families.

Friday afternoon we had class. Zhu Chen taught us a Chinese song that we can sing when we karaoke again. It is a love song. It means the moon is my heart, so if you wonder how much I love you, look at the moon.

Yesterday we visited a Buddhist temple in Feidong. On our way to the temple, we stopped in a small rural village to visit a family that is friends of one of our professors. It was a nice change to be outside of the city, and they family was very welcoming. They took us out into their rice patty fields to see their water buffalo, and gave us jasmine flowers that are very popular to purchase at the markets. After our visit with them, we went on to Feidong.

The temple was gorgeous, with large statues and amazing architecture. Leading up to the temple they have statues of all the animals of the Chinese zodiac. When we entered the temple we walked into the courtyard and lit a bundle of incense (on which I burned myself because I'm a winner). We met a monk who gave us a tour and taught us how to pray, he explained the purpose of a tank of turtles. Visitors would drop a coin into the tank and if it landed on a turtle's back (and stayed there without falling off and instantly falling to the bottom) it was a sign of good fortune.

We climbed the temple to the highest level where I got a fortune from the monk up there. First I had to pray, meaning I had to kneel three times on a cushion, each time the monk rang a bell. Then he handed me a cup full of sticks which i had to shake until one fell out. When i tried all the sticks fell out. It was terribly embarrassing and he looked at me like a fool. So I had to do it again, and then struggled to shake one out again. He noticed my embarrassment and anticipated another spill so instructed me to pull one out. He then handed me a piece of paper, and I had to find another monk to explain to me my fortune. I wasn't sure what I wanted to read, the girls encouraged me to get my marriage fortune so I did. The monk told me that marriage is a very serious thing and to think hard before I get married or else I will get divorced. Actually, that was the translation that on of my professors gave me, I have a feeling he was like this is bad, you're never getting married while Jiang Yi was sugar coating the translation. I didn't take it too seriously anyway, it was just a fun thing to do.

The temple was on a lake, in the middle of which was an Island with a pagoda. We took a boat over to the Island and climbed up to the top of the hill to the pagoda. It was an extremely hot day, but we were all determined to have fun and hike up the hill (which didn't take more than 20 min) and climb the pagoda. The stairs of the pagoda were very narrow, but it was a lot cooler inside the pagoda especially at the top levels where we had the most breeze. The views were amazing too.

This morning we woke up for a presentation of Peking opera by students at the University. It was really interesting learning about the costumes and techniques of this style of performance. The props of Peking Opera are minimal, leaving much of the message of the opera to be communicated in the body language of the performers. Several students sang for us and played traditional instruments. They even dressed us up in opera costumes. It was a great morning and now I am getting ready to go to the temple market with my friends and two Chinese tutors.

note: I have found some amazing fake purses if anyone wants to make a request. They are really cheap, I got a fake Chanel for 53 yuan, less than $10. I have found some good gucci, prada and louis vuitton fakes too.

i'll post some pictures soon, I have to upload them to my computer first. they'll be up in a few days.


Advertisement



8th June 2009

sounds like you're having a blast! its a fresh adventure daily... i love that! i'm so proud of you! and as for the psychic guy.. you're totally getting married someday. shut your mouth! love you.. lets skype soon please... love love love love you. xoxoxoxo
8th June 2009

did i mention i miss you?
8th June 2009

he was a monk ash. besides, it was more general than any horoscope i've ever read. i take it with a grain of salt. it was an experience anyway. the prayer part of it was fun, and i sort of made a scene when i spilled all the fortune sticks. it was a total mess. he didn't appreciate my giggles.
11th June 2009

Hi Honey, sounds like fun...did you tell the monk to stick it? xoxoxo

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb