Wats, Temples & Beautiful People


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
April 24th 2009
Published: April 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello All,

Its been a crazy few days since I last wrote. I've been all over Bangkok and back and now (thank god) I am far far away, in Phnom Phen, Cambodia. This is the capital of Cambodia and its very different from Bangkok. Contrary to what I'd previously heard, its not any cooler in Cambodia, but I am getting a bit used to it. We started our trip on tuesday morning, drove to Siem Reap and it took maybe 6 hours? the difference between Thailand and Cambodia was obvious. In Bangkok, there are delapitated (spelling?) buildings but in Cambodia, there are shacks. And everyone lives in one. They've got the chickens, the cows, and loads of little children running around with no shirts on, playing in the dirt. Its very dusty, even in the towns. It feels truly third-world as I've imagined it.

We went to Angkor Wat the first morning before sunrise, and it was beautiful and impressive like everything you've heard. We took a VERY extensive tour through maybe 20 or so temples and they were all beautiful and amazing. Its remarkable that these massive buildings are still standing after 900 years. I took probably 100 pictures, I'll try to upload some of them. We spent the rest of the day wandering around Siem Reap. Everyone I have met in Cambodia so far is so friendly, so cheerful and so playful. We stopped at a little village when taking the bus to Phnom Pehn, and I met the worlds smartest, cutest little boy. He showed me where the bathroom was then conned me into buying a pineapple from him. He was so bright, spoke english very well although he looked like he was 6 or so. We had a good long chat, and then when I got on the bus he got his taller friend to bang on the side so he could wave at me. Buy something from them, and they will love you forever..and then try to get you to buy something else.

We got into Phnom Pehn yesterday night, had a great meal and then basically went to bed. Sleep has been hard to come by so i got a good night in yesterday. Today we went to the S21 Prison, and the Killing Fields and learned all about the horrific things that Pol Pot did to these people from 1975 to 1979. I can't believe I hadnt heard anything about this before, its embarassing really that 3 million people can die viciously and on the other side of the world you have no idea anything happened. The prison was awful. Our guide was very detailed and expressive when he told of the ways that the Pol Pot soldiers tortured and killed thousands and thousands of people in that prison. He had survived the regime, he was 6 years old when Pol Pot took over and he said he would hide in the fields when the soldiers were coming. He lost 5 brothers and sisters to the genocide. The Killing fields were even worse. It really got to me. Its such a beautiful place, with flowering trees and a pond, and then you look down and there is bits of white bones and ripped clothing sticking out of the dirt path. The worst part was the extent of the torture, and the way everyone was killed. They didnt make it quick and painless for anyone, they were disgustingly creative with the ways they would kill. It was almost like playing for them. I really can't understand how human beings can be filled with so much anger, hate and cruelty. Its despicable. It was a rough morning.

The most amazing thing out of all this is how cheerful the people are!! After everything they've been through, they are so excited to speak to you, to wave. They are so happy that we are here. Everyone I've met so far has been amazing. I also had the best meal so far for 75 cents at the russian market. MMmmmmm...the lady even gave me a flower which I am presently wearing in my hair. It smells amazing.
Tomorrow we go to the beaches of Sianoukville and I am VERY excited! I have to say that I really love this country, and the strength of the people is fantastic. I know that sounds so corny, but these people never get a break, and they are so delightful anyway.

Okay the thunder is outrageous outside right now, its started to downpour. I might go and watch it, I haven't seen a good rainstorm yet. Talk to you all soon, I'll try and post pictures next time!!

Much Love,

Jamie

Advertisement



2nd May 2009

:)
ohh Jamie, it sounds so exciting and such a learning experience too, I'm really glad you're doing this for yourself. Hope you keep learning and having a good time!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb