My Cambodian Experience


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
January 2nd 2009
Published: January 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

S21 S21 S21

Genocide Museum where thousands of Khmer people were held and tortured before being killed
I recently travelled to Cambodia on a field trip with Victoria University as I major in tourism management. Our group consisted of sixteen members, it was a trip to be remembered for all of us.

The experience for me was mind blowing and my emotions were constantly being toyed with.
I loved every minute of the trip. Siem Reap, there is so much culture and history to be explored, not to leave out the breathtaking scenery. To the hussel and bussel in the streets of Phnom Penh where everything moves at a fast speed and not to leave out interacting with the most beautiful, humble people of Cambodia and the adorable children that surround you as your walking through the streets.

The memory that remains so clear in my mind was how happy, pleasant and cheeky the Khmer people were when they had next to nothing and were happy to live off one dollar a day. Comparing my lifestyle to theirs made me realize what I could live without and what really makes me happy. Khmer people are so committed to their families and their values; they spend just about every minute together. I also realized how lucky I
Tuk Tuk CruisingTuk Tuk CruisingTuk Tuk Cruising

The best and cheapest way to get around Cambodia...lots of fun aswell!!
was to live in Australia in a house with four walls and a roof but it doesn’t matter how big or small or how magnificent the house maybe, I’m just lucky to have a roof over my head as close to half the population of Cambodia live on the streets or in shacks we would not call a home. It made me feel guilty, but looking around Cambodia sure there is still a lot of poverty, but most Khmer people are content with how they live and just live everyday with a smile on their face.

Cambodia, to me, was a real culture shock and I enjoyed every minute I was there. I laughed with the children, I felt saddened by the poverty and horrific history that Cambodia had to overcome, and I learnt firsthand the history of Cambodia and their culture. I will defiantly be revisiting Cambodia in the future and I encourage anyone else that is thinking of travelling to Southeast Asia to do so as well.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Hussel and BusselHussel and Bussel
Hussel and Bussel

Capital city of Phnom Penh
Tuk Tuk DriversTuk Tuk Drivers
Tuk Tuk Drivers

So cheaky and persuasive!!
AdorableAdorable
Adorable

Children just like this offering you their jewellery for as little as $1
WorkWork
Work

Lady selling pinapple to earn some money
MonksMonks
Monks

You will see plenty of Monks roaming around the temples of Ankgor
Little BoysLittle Boys
Little Boys

Cheaky little boys singing to entertain you...dont stare for too long...they will chase after you wanting a dollar
Magnificent Magnificent
Magnificent

View from sitting on the banks of Angkor Wat...kicking back enjoying a beer!!
Breathtaking Breathtaking
Breathtaking

An Angkor Wat sunrise!!!
Housing Housing
Housing

What they call a home
Kicking backKicking back
Kicking back

Relaxing at a hommock bar!!
The ChildrenThe Children
The Children

You will just want to take them all home
Me and my friendMe and my friend
Me and my friend

'Wishnu' was his name....he was my personal tour guide!
Walking the countrysideWalking the countryside
Walking the countryside

This is what you will come across if your bus ever breaks down...which is likely to happen!!!
Rabbit IslandRabbit Island
Rabbit Island

Amazing way to spend the afternoon and relax
Spare time??Spare time??
Spare time??

Beaches of Sihanoukville...
SihanoukvilleSihanoukville
Sihanoukville

Endless bars from one end to the other!!
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sihanoukville.....what a veiw while sipping on cocktails


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb