21st Century Life


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
December 28th 2008
Published: December 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Floating VilliageFloating VilliageFloating Villiage

This is a photo of a Villiage in Cambodia which is situated in the middle of a lake
I recently travelled to Cambodia with 15 others for a ten days. We began in Siem Reap and then travlled to Phonm Pen, Kampot and Sianookville. This trip was one of the most life changing experiences for me. The country is full of welcoming and generous people who live on approximately one dollar a day. I found myself trying to imagine how i would be able to live comparitively back at home. I reflected on numerous occasions about the objects i have at home that I have lablled necesities. My Mobile phone, ipod and Television first cam to mind. Then i would observe the people of Cambodia and try to imagine what object a typical person would call a necessity. The only thing that came to mind was food. This trip has made me look at my life in a whole new light and allowed me to appreciate the smaller things including fresh tap water, my heath and my family. Cambodia is a magnificant country which opened my mind, i have learnt to apprecitate more natural objects including the environment rather than the gagets that i used to treasure back at home. I have found myself holding back from purchasing the
Hammock BarHammock BarHammock Bar

This Bar was competley filled with Hammocks. We were able to enjoy a beer in a hammock and take in a breath taking view
latest trend that I previously would have deemed necessary and instead spending more time in the outdoors and spending quality time with the people that mean the most to me. I believe that the Cambodian people have a more relaistic view on life that centres upon the family and interpersonal communication and they concentrate more on the natural things that surround them everyday. This is something that in the 21st century I think we should focus more upon instead of the materialstic objects that we base our lives upon. I have incldued some photos below which i believe are a tiny view into everyday life in Cambodia.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

FarmingFarming
Farming

This picture was taken in Kampot at a Pepper farm.
Small ChildrenSmall Children
Small Children

This photo was taken by a fellow student. This student was able to caputre a these two boys just enjoying a game of rock paper scissors. No ipod or electronic game in sight
Small boy playing by himselfSmall boy playing by himself
Small boy playing by himself

This photo was also taken by a fellow student and again you will be able to notice there is again no electronic gagets in sight.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb