Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
January 15th 2008
Published: January 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is now me playing a little catch up so this will be more of a brief picture review of Cambodia with a little commentary. I spent a week total in Cambodia with two nights, and one busy day in Phnom Penh. In that day I visited the Killing Fields, shooting range, S-21 museum and the Grand Palace. Let's just say it was not the most uplifting day but it was nice to finally visit a war remembrance museum where the U.S. was not the enemy. I must say before my visit I had very little knowledge on the Khmer Rouge and the genocide that occurred in Cambodia. I did pick up a very interesting book along the way if anyone is interested in learning a little bit more as well.

I then took off to Siem Reap to visit the Temples of Angkor and settle down for the Christmas holiday. I had a nice surprise when I reached my guest house in Siem Reap. Cliff, my Nova friend who lived above me in Japan came and found me at my Guest House so we ended up doing a day at the temples together which seemed fitting because we so many temples in Japan together as well.

I spent three days at Angkor viewing the temples, two of which were 12 hour days and the last just 4 hours for sunset. I was pretty templed out by the end of it. I had an excellent time though with a great group of people to spend Christmas Eve and Christmas day with. It was nice to settle in one place for a longer period of time, before this I had been jumping from place to place in one or two nights.

I took the bumpy, dusty bus ride back to Bangkok on the 26th so I could meet Sarah Carnahan!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Angkor WatAngkor Wat
Angkor Wat

From a distance
In the JungleIn the Jungle
In the Jungle

One of my favorite temples
Christmas Eve DinnerChristmas Eve Dinner
Christmas Eve Dinner

Pizza...Is that traditional?
The Killing FieldsThe Killing Fields
The Killing Fields

It is estimated between 1.5-3 million people were killed during the Khemer Rouge and Pol Pott's rule
Faces of the VictimsFaces of the Victims
Faces of the Victims

The educated were considered a threat to the society
A school turned into prisonA school turned into prison
A school turned into prison

Only 14 people survived this "prison"


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb