Dirt Bike Tour


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia
September 20th 2005
Published: September 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

MX on the MekongMX on the MekongMX on the Mekong

Here after the first hour of riding we are at a Temple hill with the Mekong River behind.
I am SO sore! My shoulder joints hurt like they never have before. But I guess that is what happens when you blast through 1400 Km of Cambodia on a dirt bike in 4 days. My back too… ouch. They have a red clay that is as slick as ice when it rains. The trucks have to use chains to pass on it. My guide and I had to ride it at night in the rain uphill. You just put it in 2nd gear and chug along just over idle. Don’t accelerate, don’t brake and don’t turn and you’ll do OK. I only went down 4 times putting me right into the red clay. My favorite stuff was the thicker mud. It was the consistency of… well I can’t think of anything like it, but it was deeper than the foot pegs in some areas. But not as slippery as the dark red stuff so you just chug through it spitting up heavy rooster tails of muck and fishtailing and sliding all over the place in slow-motion. It was GREAT! It is sad to think that in maybe 5 years much of this amazing dirt biking maybe lost to pavement. Progress,
Fresh waterFresh waterFresh water

Mmmmm...
yuck, Who needs it? There I much more to tell about this but I am sure those of you that are interested will ask me when I get home.
See ya.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

flooded roadsflooded roads
flooded roads

Since it is still the wet season a lot of the road was flooded the first day making for a grueling 13 hours to the hotel, the last hour in the rain at night.
traffice jamtraffice jam
traffice jam

This was actually one of the best sections of road. Of the near 1400km of riding only about 100km was paved like this. The rest was too much fun blasting over to stop and take pictures.
BuffaloBuffalo
Buffalo

This wasn't an uncommon sight. The children would run ferry boats, tend lifestock and just about any other job. You grow up fast in Cambodia I guess.


Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb