Off to a new start


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
April 27th 2005
Published: May 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have finally decided that there is no future for me in this town, and after some thoughtful nights, had come to the conclusion that Vietnam might offer a better life, both money-wise, work-wise, and not the least food-wise. So, I get around to all my friends here to say my goodbyes and to collect my share of e-mail addresses. Finally I get to Bamboo Light, which in the two months I have been here, have become my regular hangout joint. I talk to the owner, and tell him that I am leaving now, that there wasn’t enough work for me here, so I am off to Vietnam next week. The next thing I know, he has called up a friend in Phnom Penh, and I am told to prepare my CV and go to Phnom Penh the next day in order to apply on some positions to teach English. Which I do. Three days after having tried to say my goodbyes, I have landed three jobs as an English teacher with two different institutions, and been promised a job as a lecturer in finance, management, and marketing by Norton University when the next semester starts. So there you go, I am moving to Phnom Penh at the end of this week, and I am going to find a nice apartment with air-con (which I covet enormously), and I am going to work as an English teacher and lecturer. One day a dive instructor, the next day a lecturer at a university. Life has strange twists and turns, and who am I not to jump on every turn and twist, and enjoy the ride.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb