Under cover reading


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
February 9th 2010
Published: February 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

In an effort to save myself further sunburn I spent the morning and early afternoon in our hostel, making use of the balcony to read a book while Sammy headed down to the beach again. When the sun was on its way down I decided to join her as the risk from burning was much lower. After careful and thoughtful consideration of various offers for a tuk-tuk, motorbike and/or a cold drink I completed the 200 yard walk to the beach. I found Sammy lounging half way along the row of water front cafes finishing off the book I had leant her.
I finished off the book she had leant me - a highly amusing detective novel about Laos which I wish I had read when I was there - and we watched the sun go down.

Sammy wandered off to acquire a film from one of the shops near our hostel and after dinner we watched “The Killing Fields”, a sombre reminder that all the nice touristy stuff we’d been enjoying in Camodia concealed painful events in the recent past that anyone older than us would remember or have participated in.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb