Holiday In Cambodia - Part IV


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
July 24th 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Spent the past five days at Cambodia's top beach destination Sinhanoukville. It is here that I discovered that Cambodian food is actually good. I stumbled across the native amouk with chicken, pronounce that wrong and your apparently asking for a stupid chicken. It's a sort of curry and its lush.

(ewww, some Japanese bloke has just come and sat down next to me at the computer and smells like a golden shower victim)

The beach I spent most of my time at was really nice, not as nice as the Thai beaches but still had quite a bit going for it. The only slight downfall is if you want to just chill out you don't really get much of a chance as the beach is crawling with hawkers. Mostly children trying to sell you bracelets.

It's here that you learn that the children speak extremely good English, better that most adults that I've come across here. When I declined the purchase of some bracelets from one young lad he had the decentcy to call me a 'Motherf**ker' and wished H.I.V upon me, what a charmer!

Most of the kids were ok though and just wanted to practice their English. The majority of their earnings go towards their education which they all see and recognise as a good thing. So a lot of these kids if they behave themselves hopefully have a positive future a head of them.

I've also met up with a few guys here, two of which are heading into Vietnam at the same time as me so I will probably travel with them for a bit on the next leg of my journey.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb