Further news from Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 31st 2013
Published: March 31st 2013
Edit Blog Post

A tuk tukA tuk tukA tuk tuk

This one is decorated with plants and even a budgie in a cage!
Well I have been here for almost a month and yes it does seem to be going by quickly now. Work goes on much the same, glued to the computer screen. However I did go to a meeting at the beginning of the week, where it was very different from any meeting I have ever been to at home. It was quite normal for mobiles to ring, people to answer them and hold a conversation round the table while the meeting continued or sometimes the individuals would even leave the room to take the call outside. Also people were in the habit of leaving for a short break, whenever it seemed they had had enough and needed time out.

My task was then to compile a 'concept note', which is the first stage required when you are making a proposal for funding. By the way I didn't have a clue what this was until I received my job outline and 'googled' it. I was handed a load of information and guidelines plus a previous concept note and, together with this and some useful guidelines sent to me by my friend Ewa back home, I just got on with it! I
A view up the street in front of my flatA view up the street in front of my flatA view up the street in front of my flat

Not much traffic today as it is Sunday!
await the verdict on Monday! From talking to other English speaking volunteers and my own experience, it seems to me that if you are fluent in the English spoken and written word, you are expected to be proficient in these tasks, even though the content is completely unfamiliar!

One good thing I have recently discovered is a full sized swimming pool fairly near to where I am working, which means that I can go in the lunch time and get some exercise. I was told about this by a young Spanish guy, who took me to it on the back of his moped! I agreed to travel there on this occasion like this but will not be making a habit of jumping onto the back of mopeds, as I would like to return home in one piece! However I went swimming twice last week, which I think my Khmer work colleagues find a little strange, as they seem to spend their lunchtime either going home for lunch, if they live nearby or going to a local restaurant. I turn up with my cheese or tuna sandwiches and fruit and then disappear for an hour to the swimming pool!

I continue to meet up for brunch at the weekends with an American volunteer, Miriam, whom I have met and also with some English women, who are working as VSO volunteers and with the latter group of people, I went to an interesting film about Burma and its history and political struggles at the German institute during the week. At the weekend I did visit the National Museum of Cambodia, which is housed in a graceful terracotta building of traditional Khmer design, which is built around a delightful courtyard garden. This museum contains the world's finest collection of Khmer sculpture.

I think this is about all of my news for the moment. I am afraid I haven't got many photos to upload this time but hopefully will have more on my next entry, as my daughter, Lucy and her friend will be arriving in Phnom Penh later in the week and we will most probably all be going to visit Siem Reap and the temples at Angkor Wat.





'


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th April 2013

Finally got round to reading your blog!
Hi there by now you should have Lucy with you?? Have a great time with her - I am sure you will enjoy showing her and her friend around. Must admit the photos look very interesting - and I will definitely be coming to see you at some point! Glad you are finding it a bit easier now - it always takes effort to adjust to a new place. We are off to Vietnam on Wed - for three weeks. Then we are back on the 3rd May - and will be there for three and a half weeks before travelling again ! This time to the States! Our nephew is getting married in New York state - so we shall be going to stay with G's sister on Long Island. We are travelling via Shanghai - so on the way back we will spend about ten days in China - visiting a few places. We had originally decided that we couldn't afford to go - but G has a pension payment coming in in July and we decided after much consideration..... that we would spend it before we got it!! Well you only live once - and we felt guilty about saying no to the invite originally. If there was anything needed to reinforce our decision it was when we heard that my cousin Maureen (you may remember her, she has red hair and is the sister of Linda who I have kept more in touch with) has got terminal pancreatic cancer - only recently diagnosed - and only has at most a couple of months to live. Such shocking news - she is only a year older than Peter. So just tell yourself - if you have another low mood - that you must get out there and do as much as you can while you can! We shall be back on the 1st July. We don't go to UK til mid August - so I may think about getting to you between those dates.....but I haven't told G yet!! Anyway - continue to enjoy all the experiences and I will continue to follow the blog! love Wxxx

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb