Phnom Penh to Canberra: three flights and an airport hotel


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
November 28th 2011
Published: November 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Was up and in a tuk tuk by 6am this morning. Guy in hostel was rather rude too. Super friendly when I checked in and when I told him I needed to leave no later than 6am the next day he said it would be find to check out and pay then. I had thought it would be easier to pay up front given the early departure. I went down at about 5:45am, he was there, sitting at the counter, and when I walked up to check out, he told me that 'we don't open until 6, you'll have to wait otherwise I will never get any work done.' it was more the tone of what he said than the actual words.

So flight from PP to KL was with Air Asia and left on time, arriving 20 minutes early. Wandered KL LCCT airport for about an hour and a half, used free wifi, grabbed some lunch and tried to check in for onwards flight.

Then got the shuttle across to the airport hotel, where I was able to check in and grab a sleep and a shower before heading back across to the airport about six hours later feeling well rested.

Checked in, grabbed some dinner and eventually boarded flight to Melbourne. Earlier that day I had paid to choose my seat and choose an isle seat. At the time the two seats next to me weren't chosen. Seems luck was on my side, gate closed, and those seats were still empty. About an hour into the flight the light meal I had ordered appeared. After that, I laid out on the three seats, put in ear plugs and pretty much slept through. I stirred a few times, but woke up when there was an announcement saying we were an hour out of Melbourne, feeling fairly rested.

Bought duty free, went through Customs and Quarantine (long long line to declare wood which I knew would be fine, and they didn't even bother to look at the rest of my bags). Straight up to the Virgin check in and dropped my bags off.

Then for an early lunch before finding a power point and parking myself somewhere to kill another two hours. Then it was the home stretch, napped on the flight back to the 'Berra and it was cab and home to washing and unpacking.

And that's the end of this trip 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.316s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb