Back in the Bodge


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
May 19th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

'Helloo. Boding pass, passpot, ticket, please.'
(I smile and hand over the docs.)
'Ohh, you travel alone?'
'Alone? Yes, yes, I am travelling by myself.'
'Ok, you married?'
'Am I married? No.'
'So, you single?' (The transit officer at HCMC airport asks this question with a big smile on his face)
'Yes, I am single' (I am also smiling now, realising that he is probably weighing up whether I would make a good wife or not. I would tip on the latter, personally.)

Before I even got to Phnom Penh, I already had a smile from ear to ear. Things had not changed; there were still too many staff doing seemingly very little, they still had big smiles on their youthful faces, and they were still as cheeky as ever.

My Vietnam Air flight had gone very smoothly, with two seats all to myself, though when I set foot on the tarmac to embark on the HCMC - PP leg of my trip, I found myself staring at a small, rickety-looking, what-could-have-been-an-Aerolineas-plane. No worries, I thought. Then my attention was drawn to the nearly tread-bare tyres of the dodgy-looking aircraft. The french lady behind me remarked on the tyres. I just smiled, and thought, 'I am in South-East Asia, and isn't it wonderful.' The captain's announcements were both in English and Vietnamese, though I could only understand 'Vietnam' and 'Phnom Penh'.

After only 35 minutes in the air, we approached the tarmac on what seemed to be quite an angle. The wheels touched down,... and bounced back up... and touched down... and bounced back up. I was saying my Hail Marys, when the plane seemed to finally settle down and we came to a stop at the end of the runway. I had arrived.

Customs was the usual collection of slips; I think you could actually mark that you are carrying explosives, and they would still smile you past and collect your slip. The doors opened, and I found myself finally back in the land of plenty. The weather was perfect, not hot as everyone had warned me - I guess if you prepare for the worst, it can only eer get better...

An older guy approached me, asking where I was going. I told him where, thinking he may want to share a taxi. No, he wanted to give me a lift in his chauffeur-driven company Landcruiser. Ok, I said. 'What you doing in Cambodia?'. 'I am working at a school teaching English.' 'Oh, I look for someone to teach me Engrish!'. I had landed a job before I had checked-in. What can I say? Just damn good.

The Korean dropped me off at the Okay guesthouse, where we had stayed previously. To my utter surprise, nearly all the staff remembered me and started asking if I had returned. 'Yes', I said, with a big smile on my face.

After negotiating the room fee, I freshened up and headed out to meet up with two Pommy cyclists we had met in Vietnam a month ago. After springrolls and fruit shakes, the monsoons caught us out, and we headed to some indoor bars for a good night out on the Beer Lao. By 1am, I was happily back at the guesthouse, for once without a headache from too much grog.

What can I say, it is so wonderful, yet so weird to be back in Cambodia. Although I have been away for about two months, it seems like I never left. The air is fresh, the people are real, and I feel at home. And with 12 emails in my inbox this morning, I know I am not here alone.

x Maz

Advertisement



20th May 2006

Liebe maria, ich habe soooo gelacht ueber Deine Heiratschancen am Aeropuerto. Ich glaube, wir fuehlen schon jetzt alle, dass Di die richtige Entschedung gemacht hast. Du wirst wahrscheinlich nicht immer ein breites Laecheln auf den Lippen haben, aber um Glueck zu fuehlen, muss man auch nicht so gute Zeiten erfahren, ansonsten waere das Leben so emotionslos und man wuesst ueberhaupt nicht, was Glueck bedeutet, oder nicht? Comme ci, comme ca! Naja, habe erst ZWEI Anrufe wegen Flat 2 erhalten, und beide Damen mit Katze, also non.Habe gerade mit Eva geredet und sie hat gesagt, dass Ihr jetzt mit Canb. St. am Schwanken seid wegen Vermieten oder neue Campagne zum Verkaufen, und dass Ihr jetzt Tassie doch verkaufen wollt.Habe gestern Morgen um 8 Uhr ein sehr schoenes Erlebnis mit Peter Pardy gehabt, auch ueber einen Last Will geredet etc., er wird mir helfen, auch gleich einen Brief geschrieben und von mir unterschrieben wg. Anforderung vom originalen Title etc. von Thomas Booler in Sydney, sofort erledigt. Echt gut, mit Umarmung und Kuesschen und allem.Ich habe gar nicht gefragt nach Preis, weil er mir bisher immer etwas nachgelassen hat, einmal $ 240.- nicht berechnet, als ich Markham St. wieder vom Markt genommen hatte. Ich hoffe, ihm passiert nicht wg. seines herzens, er ist so nett und ich mag ihn sehr gern. Er hat mir einmal gesagt, dass die meisten seiner Clienten ihn nicht moegen, ich glaube, viele haben vielleicht Angst vor ihm.Naja, jedenfalls total clever, und ich habe gestern Abend mit meinem neuen Boyfriend in die Glotze geguckt in Flat 2 und geredet, und er ist sehr nett und alles, aber ehrlich gesagt, intelllektuell no challenge, und ich brauche das einfach...Hoert sich sehr arrogant an, wenn ich das jetzt so lese... Naja, also kein britischer Geologe als Schwiegersohn, damn! Und der Bruder ist auch nix????? Musst halt wieter suchen. Was ist mit dem Typen mit Chauffeur, Alter macht nix, Maria, solange die Knete stimmt... Ich bin jetzt so erloest und freue mich fuer Dich und mit Dir, und danke fuer die schoene Mail. Habe vorhin gerade wieder mit Picki geredet, und dass sie jetzt sparen soll, sie hat sehr viele rechnungen, muss in der Familie liegen. Habe eine Mail von Karla G.,aber noch nicht gelesen.Wie kommt das? Ach so, die reidels haben einen kleinen Elias bekommen in T'ville! So, mein Schaetzchen, hab viel Spass und ich denke jeden Tag an Dich. 100000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000Kuesschen! mum

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1106s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb