To dream...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
April 3rd 2006
Published: April 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Since my return from our amazing journey, one thing I have become exceedingly good at is dreaming.

I visited my mother shortly after arriving back in Melbourne, as I was really missing her company, and on the 14-hour drive up to Armidale, I had so much thinking space, that I managed to dream up an entire array of crazy but wonderful ideas.

The reason I decided to write just one more blog, as you are probably questioning its appearance in your inbox, is that so many of my friends and family, some with whom I have had little contact since school, have gone out of their way to find out what is happening now that I am back. So, I thought it only suitable to 'keep writing!' in order to update you all.

Firstly, I would like to say how wonderful it was to get back to so much warmth and encouragement - my dearst father had even read my entire blog, start to finish, much to mine and Eva's amazement (we had lengthy discussions as to whether he would read them or just hit 'delete', with the thought 'my crazy daughter is writing again' at the back of his mind. But quite on the contrary to what we all thought, dad actually urged me to publish my stories and write more, a suggestion I would never have dreamt up in a million years, coming from him.)

My old school friends also had plenty of praise and encouragement, and for the first time since going our seperate ways have I felt like we actually really connected again on a deeper level than, 'Hi Blahblahblah, How are you? I'm really well...'. Although they may possibly kill me for publishing their words on the web, I just have to share these with you:

'Hey Maz, It's taken me a little while to getting around to it, but I've really wanted to let you know how great your travelblog was.

I loved reading it, and I think you've said some very inportant things and must have done a lot of thinking. What you're contemplating doing is amazing, to say the least. It might sound funny and you might think it's a bit premature, but I'm really proud of you. The process you've gone through to get where you are now is no mean feat. ....

I'd love to hear what you're up to. Thanks heaps for including me on your update list, I really appreciate having been able to, in a small way, join in your adventures. You seem to be wanting to make your life really count - I have a lot of respect for that.

You're pretty spectacular Maz - don't let people beat that out of you.

Let's hope we cross paths sooner than expected - any time you're passing through Brisbane, please let me know.'

Another one...

'Hi Maz, Have been thinking of you since you got back. I LOVED your blog! So glad to read your experiences have given you a plan and perhaps some purpose - something we all wish we had more of.'

Another school friend and I have gotten so in touch again that we are thinking of travelling together.

Anyway, the reason I wanted to share the above with you is not to gloat about my AMAZING writing skills (ha, ha, ha), but rather to say thanks to everyone for taking a moment out of their busy days to write such beautiful words. The last thing I expected from writing a travelblog was to actually get closer to people, but what a wonderful thing to eventuate.

As to my current movements, I am spending some time in Melbourne before heading across the Seas to Tasmania to renovate our most recent property purchase. Until then, my days are split between spending time with my dearest grandmother, talking on the phone to mum (at least 50% of my day), spending some long-overdue quality time with my best mate, Monopoly with my sister, ignoring boys/guys/men, lots of GOOD coffee, more GOOD coffee, but most of all,

plenty of dreaming...

Advertisement



5th April 2006

Hi Maz, at least 50% of your time in a day is spent well and with an educated person, that should be nice to know. Plus, TELSTRA shares are again going downhill and someone has to consider these poor investors.... I will call you tomorrow at 9.,10.,11.30, 12.07,15.10,16.50,17.20 and when I get home at 7pm.,I'll call you and then we can talk... Viele Kuesschen, mum

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb