Sightseeing in Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
July 14th 2009
Published: July 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As my bus was leaving at 1pm I spent 10 whole dollars and rented a tuk-tuk for the morning to drive me around the sights in Phnom Penh to see as much as possible in the short time.

I was the first person through the gates at the Royal Palace which had beautifully well kept gardens and golden buildings/temples. I visited one temple which had a solid silver floor and there were lots of small gold buddahs every where covered in gold and diamonds with very little security at all.

Next my tuk-tuk driver drove me out to the killing fields. It was quite a long drive out of town. The moment and area was fenced off and next door there was a school with children playing with was a bit odd listening to them knowing what had happened here. For those who dont know the Killing fields are mass graves from the Pol Pot regime. There is a large monument at the front of the area which contains over 9000 skulls of victims found in the killing fields. When walking around the gardens of this plot of land you see the large mass graves. There were also bones and material all over the place and poking thought the ground. It was very shocking.

The tuk-tuk then took me back to the hotel, which included about 10 stops as the tyre, which was being held on with string, kept on coming lose.

I think caught the bus to Sihanoukville, which is on the coast. I hadnt warned my friends cousin (Stuart) that I was coming but luckily he was waiting at the bus handing out flyers for his huts/bungalows/bar/restaurant, Monkey Republic. It turned out his place was full so I stayed the first night at the neighbors bungalows. The food in the Monkey Republic was amazing, they had chips, fry-ups, marmite, choco late pancakes!! and even baked beans!!! That evening though me and Stuart went to Happa, where I ended up eating 4 nights in a row.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb