Holiday in Cambodia - Day 2


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
January 21st 2006
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Phnom Penh Day2 - Image 1Phnom Penh Day2 - Image 1Phnom Penh Day2 - Image 1

Some of the many skulls at the Killing Fields!
Ok so I mentioned in my last entry that the City has some really wild and rundown areas! Well this is no surprise considering the sheer hell the people were put through by Pol Pot. Went to the killing fields and one of the many interrogation and torture centres used by the Khmer Rouge today. Yes they are both tourist attractions!! But not in the Walt Disney kind of way! Basically the whole country was tortured & killed in the mid to late 70s, even babies, children etc It was a very sobering morning, and was only improved by the fact that I saw some of the beautiful sites in the afternoon and met some really friendly Cambodians. I have also decided to head to Hanoi in Vietnam for a few days next week, before I move onto Thailand. Hopefully, I am meeting up with Steve & Emma next weekend. This should be good as they will be returning from the islands and will be able to advise me on where to go. Anyway have just returned from cocktails at the Royal Palace hotel, it was buy 1 get 1 free. So I had 4, feeling a lot happier than I
Phnom Penh Day2 - Image 2Phnom Penh Day2 - Image 2Phnom Penh Day2 - Image 2

Cocktails at the Royal
did after the tour this morning! I head to Siem Reap tomorrow, and I am really looking forward to seeing Angkor Wat. Hope all is well, speak soon.

Advertisement



21st January 2006

hello
Have the Cambodians ever met a northerner before?! Sounds like you're having fun. x
21st January 2006

Hi there ! Wow, you've experienced so much in a couple of days - looks mad and I would be thinking thank god I DON'T have my bike here !!!!!!!! Anyway take care - look forward to more pics, lots love Sxx

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb