Dey Krahorm - A visit to the slums


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
October 6th 2008
Published: October 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I can't believe it's been almost a month since my last post. Time is flying by. I've pretty much settled into a normal routine here, so there hasn't been anything significant to write about. I've been working in the BABSEA office most days so not many photos or highlights to share. I need to change that - less office work and more community work - before my time here runs out!!

Yesterday I went to a gathering, not quite a protest, at one of the local slums called Dey Krahorm. DK is a slum that BABSEA has been working with since they were slated for forced eviction back in 2005. I think I mentioned before that David Pred, the BABSEA country Director, is a known advocate for land & housing rights and the Stop Evictions Campaign is playing a large part of what our organisation is focused on these days. BABSEA supports this community with training on the land law and their rights, advice on non-violent ways to deal with the intimidation and force they are faced with during the on-going eviction process, and we also have volunteers that continue to teach English at one of the make-shift schools within the slum.

The gathering yesterday was a way for the slum community to make their voices heard in a 3-year long struggle to protect their rights and property. They spoke about the issues facing the remaining members of the community, had live music and staged break-dancing performances by community kids. It was pretty amazing to be "inside" the slums and interacting with these people on a personal level regarding something so important to them.

Dey Krahorm lies on the east side of town, close to the Tonle Bassac river and the Buddist National Assembly. It probably won't be there for much longer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



6th October 2008

Adorable Kids!
Thanks for the post and photos -- what cute kids!!
6th October 2008

Hi Christina! I received my first blog from you. Thank you for letting me know what you're up to. It sounds very interesting and the pictures are great. I am in Gettysburg at the moment - learning all about the Civil War. We were in D.C. last week for the big votes. Home tomorrow! Love, Margie

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb