Phnom Penh Day two


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
May 25th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

On our second full day here we were late out of bed and then went for a monster walking tour of the city. The heat got the best of us after a few sweaty hours and we rested in a park for a while before having lunch in a cafe. While Dale was continuing his cultural tour we went back to bed for some of the late afternoon and then went out for dinner again with the two girls. The town was quiet and we headed home after a few drinks to get some sleep, for some.

meanwhile back in Saigon.....

The Mekong Delta trip had taken it out of me. so I decided to sleep in! My ritual of breakfast from a street vendor was not broken as I took a pork sandwich from a little lady right by my hotel, and headed to book my trip to the Cu Chi tunnels for the next day. I decided that our walking trip round Vietnam with the boys wasn't quite thorough enough, so I went to find the hidden jems we had missed the first time around. The main purpose was to find the 'Notre Dame Cathedral' which every person i spoke to was disgusted I hadnt seen it jet, even though I had now been in Saigon for the better part of a week. And indeed it truely was beautiful.

As I was sitting taking photos of the cathedral, three vietnamese ladies were having there picture taken professionally infront of the cathedral. Of course, it wasnt long before I was dragged in the photos (seems to be a too common theme). Turned out one had married a Danish man and was only here on holiday to see her 'roots'. The other two girls were her neices. I was asked to go for a meal wih her and her family and 'get to know' one of the nieces a little better; i think is how she put it. Although it would have been really nice to mingle with a vietnamese crowd who spoke good english, i wasnt sure if entrapment was a crime here, so made my excuses and left.

My next bright idea was to find the ''Jade Emporer Pagoda' which was a little out of town but I figured I had the time and could frankly do with the excercise! Eventually I found what they claimed to be the best ''Pagoada in the city'', but I was not impressed. I even asked three people if this actually was it? I didnt even bother with a photo, didnt want to waste the space. And so dejected, I turned for home.

In the evening I decided to watch the grandprix in our favourite bar 'le pub' and it was a really good race. Unfortunately I didnt get to watch any of it, because i had this nutty (but loverable) guy from Croyden spilling out his life story. He was only 26 but with the amount he had to say, he could have been 96! He threatened also to be on the same bus the next morning to the Cu Chi tunnels. I was up all night worrying!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb