A Day Off


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
June 4th 2005
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

FruitFruitFruit

Here is our market find: Anisa made sure we had some of almost everything.
Bonjour tout le monde!
I thought I'd throw in a little French for some linguistic change. I really expected to be able to speak more French here, but it is quickly dying out and being replaced with English. Oh, well. Today Anisa went to work out and I sat around. Then we went to the big market in town: Psah Thmei where we bought loads of exotic fruit. Anisa decided I needed to try everything and I"m not complaining. It was amazing. The market itself was amazing too. You really can get everything there. I saw pigs legs with hoofs attached, five inch high Christmas trees that light up, live crabs, more shoes than I have ever seen in one place, cases of huge jewels and watches, dried fish staring at me, bunches of bananas bigger than me, dainty liqueur glasses and anything else you can imagine. After Psah Thmei we went to an actual grocery store - culture shock and time warp all in one - and bought flour, milk and fruit juice. I'm going to attempt to make a pumpkin pie tonight with the supplies I brought. I'm not positive I remember the ratio of flour to shortening for
DragonfruitDragonfruitDragonfruit

This is not the best photo, but dragonfruit is so strange I had to add it. It's pink and green outside, but white with black seeds inside. It tastes fresh and a little like jicama and kiwi.
the crust, but since we don't even have shortening and have to use butter I figure one more mess up won't kill the pie. It will just be a Cambodian pumpkin pie.
Tomorrow is Phnom Oudong, then I leave for Vietnam at 6:30 am Monday!
Love,
Heather

Corrections: 1000 Reil is roughly equivalent to an American quarter. Any mention of "Jim the Motoman" is Anisa's driver, who drives us around on his motorcycle. And yes, I do wear a helmet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Anisa hard at workAnisa hard at work
Anisa hard at work

This is the kitchen and entrance to Anisa's apartment. She's washing the jackfruit (yellow on the white plate to the left in the other photo).
My roomMy room
My room

This is taken from in the living room. My room has a window that makes me feel like an exhibitionist, though Anisa is the only one who could be watching . . .
Living roomLiving room
Living room

I'm adding these photos for the curious - those who want to know where I'm staying and such.


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb