Rabbit Island


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kep
June 10th 2008
Published: June 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Rabbit Island is a short boat trip from Kep. We stayed two nights and it was just like camping on an island farm! There were cows, goats, pigs, chickens, ducks and dogs everywhere but only seafood and veggies on the menu! There was no electricity or running water, just simple bamboo bungalows. In our first bungalow we had to hike to the toliet and had no showers. The next night, we upgraded to a bungalow with in-room toilet and an outdoor shower, ah luxury...

We had our first taste of Durian fruit. Durian is the stinky fruit that is not allowed in hotels or airplanes and shoud not be allowed on bus rides. It has a really strange texture but doesn't taste as bad as it smells. This area is the largest Durian producer in the country so the smell is everywhere!










Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Chicken relaxing in kitchen - uh oh!Chicken relaxing in kitchen - uh oh!
Chicken relaxing in kitchen - uh oh!

There was never chicken on the menu
Chicken bus rideChicken bus ride
Chicken bus ride

I shared my seat with a chicken on the way to Phnom Penh. I insisted he take the floor!


14th June 2008

Nice!!!!
I'm glad to see you guys are doing well! You both look very healthy and you don't look like you're getting soft despite the luxurious accomodations you're enjoying. Stay cool, we've got fires here!
18th June 2008

Woow!
This looks so awesome, I'm so happy ya'll are having such a nice time. Wish I could come meet up with you for a week or so, that would be sweet!!! But for now I'll settle with my ride to New Orleans tomorrow:D Leaving Oslo in the afternoon, can't wait to come home and see Bill!!! Bill got us tickets to see Tom Waits in Mobile on July 2nd, AND I got an A on my exam, so I'm all smiles these days! Woho! I just wish my two girlsfriends from Norway got to meet you, they'll be coming to NOLA pretty soon, and you would have loved them! Take care, sweethearts - I'll talk to you soon! Kisses from Karin
20th June 2008

Toilets???
OK so I'm game for most everthing EXCEPT weird food and no indoor plumbing and "facilities". I must say you give a whole new perspective on bathroom decor! HAH! Looks like you're seeing some amazing sights and meeting nice folks. I think that is just great! Addison is mad that he can't join you. Told him that if he saved his $$$ then maybe he could make arrangements to meet you on the other end of your journey! Mama's pockets are empty! Trevor is in Spain until 7/2 and is also taking a day trip to Morocco one day. And yet Mama is still home. There is something wrong with this picture. I'd just settle for Vegas!!!! Enjoying keeping up with you two. Ran into Aunt Margaret in Belks last week and she of course was demanding I send Addison to you! Both boys are having a fit to go with her to Scotland next trip. Now that would be an interesting trio to follow around. Well, take care, live it up, and I look forward to your next update. Love ya both! Cuz' Stephie

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0741s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb