Busses & borders


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
October 15th 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

200,000 Reils200,000 Reils200,000 Reils

Looks like I am a millionaire, but as noone seemed to take Cambodian Riels it was a tad awkward!
10 hour bus trip today from bangkok to sim reap, had a few stops, sorted a Cambodian visa and crossed the border with no problems. It was a lot easier than I imagined, but was surprised at the amount of younger people getting worked up about it and couldn't decide if to go by taxi or bus after the border crossing.

I had decided on taxi and clubbed together with a guy from Barcelona ( who moaned at everything!) and a young Japanese girl who kept shaking her head and saying "this don't make sense" Which was cute!

At the border it was stinking hot, but I remembered you at home and smiled, and enjoyed it!

In Cambodia today it is a huge festival for sending gifts to dead ancestors and it made me think, what would I send my dead ancestors? A couple of em would defi have got contraceptives to use before they died in the hope that might have stopped a few of the annoying ones we got left with From ever appearing; I might have backdated some sort contraption to remove a few vocal chords and I would certainly have a word with doc
Hak's House, Sim ReapHak's House, Sim ReapHak's House, Sim Reap

Highly recommended. Very clean, very cheap and Hak and his staff could not have done more to make guests welcome. He arranged yuk time, advise as to the best days out etc. His staff are amazing and made me feel like someone special!
brown to see if he could nip to Benin (land of voodoo) in his time machine and get them to .... Actually, on 2nd thoughts...

It was great seeing the Cambodians. They all gathered around the many rivers having family gatherings; so simple, but they all looked happy.

Tomorrow I am going to visit some floating villages on the huge lake, at tea time I am going to book a guide to show me the famous Angkor wat temples for the day after, and go to see the amazing sunset.

Right now, it is about 7pm and I m done in!

I am going to get my camera and see if I can add some photos! Tara fer nah


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Cambodian VisaCambodian Visa
Cambodian Visa

Easy Peasy!
SellersSellers
Sellers

they get all over, even in no-man's land


15th October 2012

Excellent news !!
All sounds brilliant! You look rich, but guess all that might be just about a fiver? Room looks nice. And the adventure is proving worthwhile! Enjoy the temples and sunset. I saw pics of the sunrise, presumably same tourist spot, and it looked amazing. Xxxxxx. (P.s. well if your WILL pick someone from Barcelona, what do you expect? Lol). Keep the photos coming !
15th October 2012

hehe
hey mum some interesting stories all round and of course i can only imagine how it really is!!! I would love to see some more pictures to get a better picture! love u lots and happy adventuring keep these blogs coming!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb