Siem Reap - walking around the centre


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
May 12th 2011
Published: May 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"Just one dollar; only one dollar" is what you hear when you walk around Siem Reap. You hear this from the tuk tuk drivers, from the massage parlors, from the fish pedicures and whomever else that is selling something. We spent the day walking around Siem Reap's centre. We checked out a couple markets, I got a pedicure as my toes were looking pretty beat up, and we bought a tank top each (or vest as the South Americans and English would say). I don't know what was with me today but I can't count how many times I stubbed my toes, or tripped over a sidewalk. While buying a water I started talking to a little girl. You could tell she is learning english in school. When I asked a question she would have to stop and think about what I said before responding. It was really cute. She told me her name, and told me she lives in Cambodia, and she learns english in school. I told her my name and that I live in Canada.

I bought a book today and its obvious that it was a photocopied from the original. Things like that aren't illegal here though. Or maybe it is, but it isn't hard pressed like it is at home. You can buy movies that aren't even out in theatres yet, tv series, Windows programs, Photoshop programs... anything you could ever want. And most of the time the quality of the product is up to par.
We headed back to the hotel for a little rest and with hopes to get a hold of Megan on skype, which we did! It started thundering soon after so we just spent the rest of the day laying around.
We went out for some dinner. We ended up having some nacho's at a mexican resteraunt. I started talking with a tuk tuk driver after taking a photo of across the street. He was a young guy, very soft spoken. After talking with him, and having Tris talk to him we decided we are going to ditch the guy we booked the temple tour with originally and go with this guy. We both just felt comfortable with him, and he spoke pretty good english. We feel bad ditching the one guy, but we have the hotel phoning him and telling him no to come. At least he's not showing up and having no tour booked. We get picked up tomorrow at 5am so we can see the sunrise at Angkor Wat.
A little girl was going around selling bracelets with a sign saying she needed money to go to school. I ended up buying 3 bracelets for $1.00. I'm sure I got suckered and the money probably isn't for school, but I always end up feeling bad.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

My toesMy toes
My toes

my feet look dirty
No big deal, just a cat hanging out inside the pharmacyNo big deal, just a cat hanging out inside the pharmacy
No big deal, just a cat hanging out inside the pharmacy

Not just INSIDE the pharmacy, but inside the cabinet where the drugs are kept
Recycled bagsRecycled bags
Recycled bags

These were cool. They were bags made out of old rice sacks and what not. We didn't need one though so we didnt buy one
old chariotold chariot
old chariot

These are the tuk tuks. They are pulled behind a motorbike


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb