A Day in Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
February 12th 2011
Published: April 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The fateful mealThe fateful mealThe fateful meal

Here's the delicious dinner that put bacteria in my stomach and made me sick for a few weeks.
I didn't do a lot these past few days. Since I went to Angkor Wat last year, I didn't want to go again this year. I have my special memories and those are the ones I want to keep. I decided to have a girl's day in town this year while my friends trekked from temple to temple.

I started out by sleeping in and then making my way to the main tourist area around noon. I enjoyed Mexican food for lunch (everyone swears by it) and then lounged in the shade with my lemonaide and a book for the better part of the afternoon. Then I walked down the street and exchanged it for another book. I love all the used bookstores in SE Asia--the give you a few dollars for yours and then you pay the difference for the next book--everyone wins.

After taking care of business, I went shopping. I got myself a new purse since the one I usually tote isn't big enough for a book, wallet, and bottle of water. I also got some linen pants--they'll help keep the bugs off and let the air through! Lastly, I bought a green traditional Khmer scarf. I wanted to get one last year but never got around to it. Exhausted from all my bargain shopping, I got a heavenly one hour massage. I could have melted into my chair if she hadn't accidently kept tickling me.

We all met up for dinner. They told me about the five temples they'd visited and I remembered each one. We enjoyed a traditional Khmer dinner--fitting. It was so delicious and cheap! We walked around town a bit, checking out the market some more, and then took a tuk tuk back to our hotel, exhausted and ready for sleep.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.286s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 65; dbt: 0.2011s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb