Last Day of Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
January 6th 2011
Published: January 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was another day where no one really wanted to do anything. I ended up heading to one of the markets in search of some Cambodian silk. I wanted to grab some scarves so I got into bargaining mode and went to work. I had a set # that I wanted and I went through about 5 different stall with all of them giving me a price range of around 15-18 dollars. Way to much so I decided on 8 dollars which was just an arbitrary number that I would not go higher than. I found it much better to have a set goal and be ready to walk if they can't match it. I ended up bartering at 3 more places until I found a lady who would really barter. She started at about 15 dollars so I started at 6. After about 5 minutes I was at my 8 dollar maximum And she would go no lower than 9. At first I used to just think what's 1 dollar but then I realized they always got me for just a bit above what I wanted instead of what I wanted so I held firm at 8 dollars. We bothe made our final offers but she wouldn't budge. Luckily for me the lady in the stall next to her reached a head around and said "I'll do it for 8 dollars" and so I had a deal. I went over and picked out the exact same scarves while avoiding the angry glare of a mad sales lady.

After that the afternoon was nearly over. I had almost exactly and hour to go before I grabbed the boys for dinner and it happened to be that Morris suggested we go get a massage and it happened to be that the massages were exactly an hour long so of course with all the sign pointing towards it how could I decline.

The places we went had both Thai and Cambodian massages as well as all the different options like herbal, hot oil, foot, hand etc. It was a tough choice (I know you feel for me) but I settled on Cambodian so I could compare it with a Thai massage. It was similar but with less contortions of body parts and a bit softer. Well it was softer until i was on my belly and I felt a huge pressure placed on my back. That's when I realized she was standing on me!
It was a little weird at first and kind of massage like I guess. I don't know how to describe it you just have to lay on your stomach and get someone to walk around on you for 5 minutes. I didn't enjoy that part as much I have to say.

After tha. We all went for dinner and ice cream then home for bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb