Angkor Wat


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
October 31st 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took the overnight bus from Sihanoukville to Siem Reap and when I arrived I felt like death. The overnight bus had a bunk beds theme and I was on the bottom. The bed above me rattled and moved as the bus flew down the highway. I just kept waiting for the bed to fall on top of me trying to guess how much weight it actually takes to crush a person. When I got to a hotel I checked in and went to sleep, I finally got some medicine around dinner time and by the next morning felt much better. Not wanting to waste time I went to Angkor Wat, the main attraction in the town, if not the country. I heard mixed reviews, everything from it is the biggest scam in Cambodia to I needed to buy the week long pass. I decided to get only the one day pass and hire a tuk tuk driver to take me to the places I wanted to see. I liked the place, but I didn't need more than one day. I had plenty of time and I actually went and saw one wat twice. Then I waited around for sunset along with a thousand other people. I saw some people that I had been traveling with in Vietnam and afterwards we went out for Halloween. It was actually the day before, but being a Saturday it seemed like that was the day everyone decided dressed up and go out.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb