Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 2nd 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My time in Bangkok was brief I mostly just walked around and saw the sights. They have a grand palace here, but since I didn't go to the one in Phnom Penh I decided to be an equal opportunity discriminator and not go to this one either. The palace in Bangkok did look a lot better, but they wanted $10 to enter and they had a more strict dress code. The touts in the area were relentless as I walked they would come out of no where saying "Palace? I take". Or they would just point at my shorts and say I couldn't go in. It suited me fine, I never planned on going in anyway, but thanks for the advice random crazy guy. Like I said I had no intention of going into the place, but as I was walking past it a guy came out of a side door wearing a guards uniform and says "you want in?" and I assume for a fee similar to the entrance fee I could have walked into the area, but then probably arrested for wearing shorts inside, even with that great invitation I chose not to go. Maybe another time, I hadn't seen my quota of wats for the day so I continued down the road. I wanted to leave the city and I had met a person who made highlights in my book about where I should go in the north. I chose one at random and that night I left for Chiang Mai.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb