From Norfolk/Suffolk to...Cambodia !!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
April 28th 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

No surprise to my family but am going on a little trip ! Leaving on 30th April returning 21st May.

I was sitting quietly one cold winter afternoon when my feet started to itch and my Mother Teresa syndrome started to kick in and before I knew it I was booked to go to Cambodia to volunteer in an orphanage for 2 weeks. Obviously the easy life isn't for me. The move to Norfolk turned out not the way I expected ( does life ever ?) and split up from Nigel but am living in the countryside and it is lovely. Surprisingly there is so much to do here that I don't think I will be bored. I am definitely staying until September at least.

Now back to Cambodia - thought I needed to try this volunteering lark as didn't manage it last time due to broken leg so have chosen short placement in a country I know very little about - other than there are great temples ( very near where I am staying) and Rick Stein extolled the taste of the cuisine ! I hope to have a go teaching English as now have 3 TEFL certificates and really ought to see if I like teaching ( after 33 years!!!!!). Otherwise am open to whatever is needed. After I finish I'm going to Phnom Penh for 4 days to see the 'tourist attractions' - like the Killing Fields. It makes gruesome reading when you hear what happened in the 70s and the country has been working hard to build up tourism.

If you don't want to read the blog it's fine - just delete it ! But it's such a great way to contact a large number of people. Photos next time I promise.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb